---
title: "Headphones for Drummers Compared: E-Kits, Isolation, In-Ears"
description: "Headphones and in-ear monitors for drummers compared: e-kit practice, isolating headphones for acoustic kits, studio models and in-ears, with US prices."
author: "Raul Rodrigues"
publishedAt: 2026-10-08
checkedOn: 2026-10-08
canonical: https://upbeat.studio/compare/headphones-for-electronic-drums/
---

# Headphones for electronic drums and drummers, compared

For drumming, headphones do one of two jobs: let you hear an electronic kit without bothering anyone, or let you hear music over a loud acoustic kit. The second job needs isolation, and only some makers publish a figure for it: Direct Sound states 36.7 dB of passive attenuation for the EX-29 Plus, Sennheiser up to 32 dB for the HD 280 PRO, Vic Firth 25 dB, beyerdynamic about 18 to 20 dBA, and Shure and KZ up to 37 dB and about 26 dB for their in-ears. The table compares 14 models on what their makers say they block, how they connect, and what they cost in the US today.

Checked on 2026-10-08. 14 tools. Prices are US dollars as listed on the named store on the date given with each row; they change, so check the store before buying.

## What you need, and what decides the pick

- **E-kit practice.** I practice on an electronic kit. What decides it: a closed back so the sticks don't drown the sound, a long cable, and comfort for an hour or more.
- **Over an acoustic kit.** I play an acoustic kit along to music. What decides it: how much outside sound the maker says it blocks, so the music stays audible without turning it up.
- **Recording.** I record and mix. What decides it: an even sound, a detachable cable and a closed back for tracking.
- **In-ears on stage.** I need in-ear monitors for gigs. What decides it: the seal and isolation the maker states, tip sizes and the cable.
- **Long sessions.** I practice for hours. What decides it: weight, clamp and pads you can replace.

## The table

| Tool | Maker | Kind | Fit | Price (US) | Closed-back (true) or open-back (false) | The maker's isolation or attenuation figure, in its words | Impedance in ohms as stated | Driver size or type as stated | Cable length, coiled or straight, detachable | Plug: 3.5 mm, 6.3 mm adapter | Weight as stated | Wireless Bluetooth (note: latency matters with an e-kit) | Ear pads or tips can be replaced | A built-in volume limiter | Retail rating | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vic Firth Stereo Isolation Headphones SIH3 | Vic Firth | isolating headphones | over-ear | $87.95 | yes | Vic Firth: reduce outside noise levels by 25 decibels | not stated by Vic Firth; Thomann lists 32 ohms | 50 mm dynamic Mylarcon | length not stated by Vic Firth; Thomann lists the cable as not replaceable | 3.5 mm stereo plug with included 1/4 in adapter | not stated by Vic Firth; Thomann lists 340 g | no | unknown | unknown | 4.7 (48) Thomann US | Over an acoustic kit |
| Direct Sound EX29 Plus v4.0 Extreme Isolation Headphone | Direct Sound | isolating headphones | over-ear | from $164.99 | yes | Direct Sound: Passive Attenuation 36.7 dB | 32 ohm | 40 mm, closed back, TruSound v4.0 | premium detachable cord; 96 in cable extension in the box; coiled or straight not stated | 3.5 mm plug with 6.3 mm screw-on adapter | 11.5 oz | no | yes | unknown | 4.0 (101) Musician's Friend | Over an acoustic kit, Recording |
| Alesis DRP100 Electronic Drum Reference Headphones | Alesis | e-kit headphones | over-ear | $59 | unknown | no dB figure; Alesis says the over-ear design provides extreme audio isolation | 32 ohms | 40 mm full-range | attached, not detachable; Alesis lists both 6 ft (1.8 m) and 2 m on the same page | 3.5 mm (1/8 in) stereo mini plug with 6.3 mm (1/4 in) adapter included | not stated by Alesis | no | unknown | unknown | 3.5 (5) Sweetwater | E-kit practice, Long sessions |
| Roland RH-5 Headphones | Roland | studio headphones | on-ear | $54.99 | yes | no dB figure; Roland says the closed-back design means you'll never be interrupted by external noise or sound-bleed from other instruments | 32 ohm | 40 mm | 3 m (10 ft), straight, not replaceable per Thomann | gold-plated stereo mini plug with mini to 1/4 in adapter | 190 g (7 oz) without cord | no | unknown | unknown | 4.2 (167) Thomann US | E-kit practice |
| Roland VMH-D1 V-Drums Headphones | Roland | e-kit headphones | over-ear | $193.59 | yes | no dB figure; Roland says the earpads provide excellent isolation from acoustic pad noise | 32 ohm | 50 mm dual-diaphragm | two detachable cables, 3 m (10 ft) and 1.5 m (5 ft) | 3.5 mm with 6.3 mm (1/4 in) adapter included | 285 g +/-5 g | no | unknown | unknown | 4.6 (39) Thomann US | E-kit practice, Long sessions |
| Yamaha HPH-MT8 Studio Monitor Headphones | Yamaha | studio headphones | over-ear | $199.99 | yes | no dB figure; Yamaha says closed-back, circumaural design for excellent isolation | 37 ohm at 1 kHz | 45 mm dynamic, CCAW voice coil | two detachable cables, 1.2 m (3.9 ft) coiled and 3.0 m (9.8 ft) straight | 3.5 mm stereo with threaded 6.3 mm adaptor | 350 g (0.8 lbs) without cable and plug | no | unknown | unknown | 4.7 (92) Thomann US | Recording |
| Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Professional Monitor Headphones | Audio-Technica | studio headphones | over-ear | from $159 | yes | no dB figure from Audio-Technica; Musician's Friend's listing says circumaural design for excellent sound isolation | 38 ohm | 45 mm, CCAW voice coil | three detachable cables: 1.2 m coiled (about 3 m extended), 3.0 m straight, 1.2 m straight | 3.5 mm with 6.3 mm adapter | 285 g without cable | no | yes | unknown | 4.7 (2k) Thomann US | Recording |
| Sony MDR-7506 | Sony | studio headphones | over-ear | $114.99 | yes | none stated by Sony; no attenuation figure on the Sony Pro page | 63 Ohms | 40.0 mm, neodymium magnet, dynamic | 9.8 ft coiled cord (coiled per Musician's Friend), single-sided, not replaceable per Thomann | gold Unimatch plug for 1/4 in and 1/8 in jacks | 8.1 oz | no | yes | unknown | 4.7 (1k) Thomann | E-kit practice, Recording |
| beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO | beyerdynamic | studio headphones | over-ear | $159.99 | yes | Ambient noise isolation approx. 20 dBA (32 ohm version), approx. 18 dBA (80 and 250 ohm versions) | 32, 80 or 250 ohms (three versions) | dynamic; size not stated by beyerdynamic | fixed, single-sided: 1.6 m straight (32 ohm), 3 m straight (80 ohm), 3 m coiled (250 ohm) | gold-plated 3.5 mm mini jack with 6.35 mm (1/4 in) adapter | 325 g (32 ohm), 345 g (80 ohm), 380 g (250 ohm) per spec sheet; 270 g without cable per beyerdynamic's product data | no | yes | unknown | 4.8 (5k) Thomann | E-kit practice, Recording, Long sessions |
| Sennheiser HD 280 PRO | Sennheiser | studio headphones | over-ear | $99.95 | yes | High ambient noise attenuation (up to 32 dB) | 64 Ω | dynamic; size not stated by Sennheiser | coiled, single-sided, min. 1.3 m / max. 3 m; not replaceable per Thomann | 3.5 mm jack plug with 6.3 mm adapter | 285 g without cable | no | yes | unknown | 4.5 (305) Thomann | Over an acoustic kit, E-kit practice, Recording |
| AKG K371 | AKG | studio headphones | over-ear | $199 | yes | no dB figure found; AKG's copy says the closed-back design provides superior isolation in noisy environments | 32 ohms | 50 mm dynamic, titanium coated per Thomann | detachable: 3 m coiled, 3 m straight and 1.2 m straight, single-sided | 3.5 mm (1/8 in) with a 1/4 in adapter | 255 g | unknown | unknown | unknown | 4.4 (335) Thomann | E-kit practice, Recording, Long sessions |
| Shure SE215 | Shure | in-ear monitors | in-ear | $119 | unknown | Sound Isolating technology blocks up to 37 dB of noise | 17 Ω per Shure's product data | single dynamic MicroDriver | detachable MMCX cable, 64 in (163 cm), worn over the ear | 3.5 mm; no 6.3 mm adapter listed in the box | 30 g per Shure's product data | no | yes | unknown | 4.5 (131) Musician's Friend | In-ears on stage, Over an acoustic kit |
| KZ ZS10 Pro | KZ (Knowledge Zenith) | in-ear monitors | in-ear | from $49.99 | unknown | can directly isolate about 26dB of noise | 30 Ω | hybrid: 1 dynamic plus 4 balanced armature per side | detachable 0.75 mm 2-pin cable, 125 ± 5 cm, worn over the ear | 3.5 mm; no adapter listed | 32 ± 3 g | no | yes | unknown | 4.2 (94) Linsoul | In-ears on stage, Over an acoustic kit |
| ISOtunes PRO 2.0 | ISOtunes | isolating headphones | in-ear | $109.99 | unknown | ANSI-Certified 27 dB noise reduction rating (NRR) | not stated by ISOtunes | not stated by ISOtunes | no audio cable: Bluetooth 5.1; a charging cable is included | none; Bluetooth only | not stated by ISOtunes | yes | yes | yes | 3.9 (10) ISOtunes | Over an acoustic kit |

Legend: yes = the store listing or the maker says so; no = not there; unknown = neither says.

## One by one

### Vic Firth Stereo Isolation Headphones SIH3

Vic Firth. isolating headphones, over-ear, hardware. In the box: The wired headphones with a 3.5 mm plug, a 1/4 in adapter and a drawstring carry bag.

Vic Firth's drummer headphones put closed over-ear cups between you and the kit, with Vic Firth quoting 25 dB of noise reduction so a click or a song can be heard over an acoustic kit. The SIH2 in older guides is no longer listed by Musician's Friend or Thomann US, and Vic Firth now sells the SIH3 under the same Stereo Isolation Headphones name, so this row describes the SIH3.

- Best for: Over an acoustic kit
- Not for: Not for anyone who wants a detachable, replaceable cable, which Thomann lists the SIH3 as lacking.
- Someone does it better: Direct Sound quotes a higher passive attenuation figure for the EX29 Plus, 36.7 dB against Vic Firth's 25 dB, and gives it a detachable cord and replacement ear cushions sold by the maker.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - SIH3: $87.95 at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/vic-firth-sih3-isolation-headphones/m19373000000000)
  - SIH3: $87.95 at Vic Firth website (https://vicfirth.com/products/vic-firth-stereo-isolation-headphones)
  - Note: Musician's Friend and Thomann US have no SIH2 listing; both prices are for the SIH3, the model Vic Firth now sells as Stereo Isolation Headphones.
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.7 (48) Thomann US; 5.0 (1) Musician's Friend
- Maker: https://vicfirth.com/products/vic-firth-stereo-isolation-headphones
- Sources:
  - The product Vic Firth sells as Stereo Isolation Headphones is SKU SIH3: "SKU: SIH3" (https://vicfirth.com/products/vic-firth-stereo-isolation-headphones)
  - Maker isolation claim: "Reduce outside noise levels by 25 decibels" (https://vicfirth.com/products/vic-firth-stereo-isolation-headphones)
  - Maker plug spec: "3.5mm stereo plug with included 1/4" adapter" (https://vicfirth.com/products/vic-firth-stereo-isolation-headphones)
  - Maker driver spec: "50mm Dynamic Speaker Mylarcon" (https://vicfirth.com/products/vic-firth-stereo-isolation-headphones)
  - Bluetooth is a separate Vic Firth model with its own SKU: "The ideal wireless headphones with sound isolation and clear, crisp sound. SKU: VXHP0012" (https://vicfirth.com/products/vic-firth-bluetooth-isolation-headphones)
  - A retailer describes the SIH3 as the newer version of the line: "The SIH3 is the latest version" (https://drumcenternh.com/products/vic-firth-stereo-isolation-headphones-v3)
  - Musician's Friend has no SIH2 listing: "We couldn't find any products that match your request." (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/search?Ntt=SIH2)
  - Thomann US has no SIH2 listing: "did not result in any hits" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/search_dir.html?sw=vic+firth+sih2)
  - Retailer spec: closed back, impedance: "System Closed Back Impedance 32 Ohms" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/vic_firth_sih3_headphones.htm)
  - Retailer spec: cable not replaceable: "Replacable Cable No" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/vic_firth_sih3_headphones.htm)
  - Retailer spec: weight: "Weight 340 g" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/vic_firth_sih3_headphones.htm)
  - Thomann US customer rating: "4.7 out of 5 stars from 48 customer ratings" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/vic_firth_sih3_headphones.htm)

### Direct Sound EX29 Plus v4.0 Extreme Isolation Headphone

Direct Sound. isolating headphones, over-ear, hardware. In the box: The headphones with a 96 in cable extension with a 3.5 mm plug and a 6.3 mm screw-on adapter.

Built as extreme isolation headphones, with Direct Sound quoting 36.7 dB of passive attenuation for the current v4.0, so a click or cue mix can be heard over an acoustic kit and drums can be tracked next to the mixer. Musician's Friend sells it as the EX-29 with older description copy and a different attenuation figure, though its UPC matches the maker's EX29 Plus v4.0, so check which version a seller is shipping.

- Best for: Over an acoustic kit, Recording
- Not for: Not for a player who mainly uses an e-kit at home and wants a light headphone, since Direct Sound lists 11.5 oz against Roland's 190 g (7 oz) for the RH-5.
- Someone does it better: Roland's VMH-D1 is tuned specifically for electronic drums and ships with two detachable cables, a 3 m one for the kit and a 1.5 m one for listening.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - EX-29, Black, same UPC as the maker's EX29 Plus v4.0: $165 at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/direct-sound-ex-29-extreme-isolation-headphones/241218000001000)
  - EX29 Plus v4.0, Midnight Black: $164.99 at Direct Sound website (https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/product-page/ex29-plus-extreme-isolation-headphone)
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.0 (101) Musician's Friend
- Maker: https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/product-page/ex29-plus-extreme-isolation-headphone
- Sources:
  - Maker attenuation claim, v4.0: "Passive Attenuation: 36.7 dB" (https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/product-page/ex29-plus-extreme-isolation-headphone)
  - Closed back: "Type: Dynamic closed type headphones with closed back speakers" (https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/product-page/ex29-plus-extreme-isolation-headphone)
  - Driver: "Drivers: 40 mm, closed back" (https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/product-page/ex29-plus-extreme-isolation-headphone)
  - Impedance: "Impedance: 32 ohm" (https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/product-page/ex29-plus-extreme-isolation-headphone)
  - Weight: "Weight: 11.5 oz" (https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/product-page/ex29-plus-extreme-isolation-headphone)
  - Detachable cord: "Cord: Premium detachable" (https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/product-page/ex29-plus-extreme-isolation-headphone)
  - In the box: cable, plug and adapter: "Premium 96" cable extension with 3.5 mm plug & 6.3 mm screw-on adapter" (https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/product-page/ex29-plus-extreme-isolation-headphone)
  - Passive design, no batteries, so no Bluetooth or electronics: "no batteries required" (https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/product-page/ex29-plus-extreme-isolation-headphone)
  - Maker sells replacement ear cushions: "Replacement cushions are rectangular and for the EX29 Plus and EXTW37 Headphones" (https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/product-page/replacement-ear-cushions-for-ex29-plus-extw37)
  - Musician's Friend listing still carries an older attenuation figure: "Specially designed earmuffs passively attenuate surrounding sound by a comfortable average of 28 decibels" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/direct-sound-ex-29-extreme-isolation-headphones/241218000001000)
  - Musician's Friend customer rating: "4.0 out of 5 stars with ( 101 ) total reviews" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/direct-sound-ex-29-extreme-isolation-headphones/241218000001000)
  - Maker says its replacement parts fit current models, which covers the v4.0: "Direct Sound Replacement Parts will fit ALL existing and current models" (https://www.directsoundproaudio.com/parts-1)

### Alesis DRP100 Electronic Drum Reference Headphones

Alesis. e-kit headphones, over-ear, hardware. In the box: The DRP100 headphones, a 1/4 in (6.3 mm) adapter, a protective bag and a safety and warranty manual.

Alesis's own headphones for electronic drums, voiced for drum monitoring rather than a flat response, with 40 mm drivers and a sweat-proof silicone headband meant to stay put while playing. Alesis still lists it, but Musician's Friend and Thomann US have no listing for it, so check that a seller near you has it before planning around it.

- Best for: E-kit practice, Long sessions
- Not for: Not for mixing, since Alesis says it is voiced for drum monitoring and not flat response.
- Someone does it better: Roland's VMH-D1 has detachable cables in two lengths and a cable restraint, while the DRP100's cable is hard wired.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - DRP100: $59 at Sweetwater (https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/DRP100--alesis-drp100-drum-monitoring-headphones)
  - Note: Read on Sweetwater's product page in a browser.
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 3.5 (5) Sweetwater
- Maker: https://www.alesisdrums.com/accessories/drp100/
- Sources:
  - Voiced for drums, not flat: "Voiced for drum monitoring - not flat response" (https://www.alesisdrums.com/page-data/accessories/drp100/page-data.json)
  - Maker isolation wording, no dB figure: "Over-ear design provides extreme audio isolation and comfort" (https://www.alesisdrums.com/page-data/accessories/drp100/page-data.json)
  - Cable and plug, first spec line: "6-foot (1.8m) attached cable with 1/8-inch (3.5mm) stereo mini-plug" (https://www.alesisdrums.com/page-data/accessories/drp100/page-data.json)
  - Cable, second spec line on the same page: "Hard wired 2 meter 1/8" cable" (https://www.alesisdrums.com/page-data/accessories/drp100/page-data.json)
  - Impedance and driver: "Impedance: 32 ohms Transducer Size: 40mm" (https://www.alesisdrums.com/page-data/accessories/drp100/page-data.json)
  - Headband: "Sweat-proof silicone headband for fit flexibility and stability while performing" (https://www.alesisdrums.com/page-data/accessories/drp100/page-data.json)
  - Not listed at Musician's Friend: "We couldn't find any products that match your request." (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/search?Ntt=alesis+drp100)
  - Not listed at Thomann US: "did not result in any hits" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/search_dir.html?sw=alesis+drp100)
  - Comfort for long practice, and recording to a cue mix, maker claim: "outstanding comfort, making it easy to play along with the band, record to a cue mix, or practice privately for long periods of time" (https://www.alesisdrums.com/page-data/accessories/drp100/page-data.json)

### Roland RH-5 Headphones

Roland. studio headphones, on-ear, hardware. In the box: The headphones with an attached 3 m cord and a mini plug to 1/4 in plug adapter.

Roland's entry headphones for digital pianos, guitars and e-drums: closed-back, 190 g and a 3 m cord long enough to reach a drum module from the throne. Thomann lists them as on-ear with a cable that is not replaceable, so a damaged cord cannot simply be swapped.

- Best for: E-kit practice
- Not for: Not for playing along over an acoustic kit, since Roland gives no isolation figure and Thomann lists it as on-ear.
- Someone does it better: Roland's own VMH-D1 adds two detachable cables and earpads that Roland says isolate acoustic pad noise.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - RH-5, Black: $54.99 at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/roland-rh-5-headphones/l77411000001000)
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.2 (167) Thomann US; 4.5 (2) Musician's Friend
- Maker: https://www.roland.com/us/products/rh-5/
- Sources:
  - Closed type: "Closed type; dynamic" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/rh-5/)
  - Driver: "40 mm in diameter" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/rh-5/)
  - Impedance: "Impedance 32 ohm" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/rh-5/)
  - Weight: "190 g (7 oz) (without cord)" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/rh-5/)
  - Cord length: "Cord 3 m (10')" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/rh-5/)
  - Plug: "Stereo mini (gold-plated)/ Plug adaptor (mini plug to 1/4 inch phone plug)" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/rh-5/)
  - Maker isolation wording, no dB figure: "you’ll never be interrupted by external noise or sound-bleed from other instruments" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/rh-5/)
  - Made for e-drums among other instruments: "digital pianos, guitars, synths, digital drums and more" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/rh-5/)
  - On-ear per retailer: "Design On-Ear" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/roland_rh_5.htm)
  - Fixed cable per retailer: "Replacable Cable No" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/roland_rh_5.htm)
  - Straight cable per retailer: "Cable type: Straight" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/roland-rh-5-headphones/l77411000001000)
  - Thomann US customer rating: "4.2 out of 5 stars from 167 customer ratings" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/roland_rh_5.htm)
  - Musician's Friend customer rating: "4.5 out of 5 stars with ( 2 ) total reviews" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/roland-rh-5-headphones/l77411000001000)

### Roland VMH-D1 V-Drums Headphones

Roland. e-kit headphones, over-ear, hardware. In the box: The headphones with a 3 m and a 1.5 m detachable cable, a 1/4 in adapter, a cable restraint, a stand hanger and a carrying pouch.

Made by Roland and V-MODA for electronic drums, with 50 mm dual-diaphragm drivers tuned for e-kit transients, a 3 m detachable cable that reaches the module, a cable restraint behind the neck and a hanger for a drum stand. Roland gives no attenuation figure, so for loud acoustic play-along a dedicated isolation headphone with a quoted dB figure fits better.

- Best for: E-kit practice, Long sessions
- Not for: Not for drummers who mainly play along on an acoustic kit, where Roland gives no isolation figure and Direct Sound quotes 36.7 dB for the EX29 Plus.
- Someone does it better: Direct Sound gives a passive attenuation figure for the EX29 Plus, 36.7 dB, which Roland does not give for the VMH-D1.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - VMH-D1: $193.59 (regular $219.99) at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/v-moda-vmh-d1-headphones-designed-for-v-drums/m00525000000000)
  - Note: Musician's Friend shows a price drop from $219.99.
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.6 (39) Thomann US
- Maker: https://www.roland.com/us/products/vmh-d1/
- Sources:
  - Over-ear: "Over-Ear Circumaural" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/vmh-d1/)
  - Driver: "50mm dual-diaphragm" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/vmh-d1/)
  - Impedance: "Impedance 32Ω" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/vmh-d1/)
  - Weight: "285g +/-5g" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/vmh-d1/)
  - Two detachable cables: "Two detachable cables: 3 m/10 ft. cable for tangle-free drum playing and 1.5 m/5 ft. cable for everyday music listening" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/vmh-d1/)
  - Maker isolation wording, no dB figure: "Form-fitting earpads provide excellent isolation from acoustic pad noise and other outside sounds" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/vmh-d1/)
  - Comfort for long sessions, maker claim: "Large memory foam earpads and cushioned headband deliver extended comfort for long playing sessions" (https://www.roland.com/us/products/vmh-d1/)
  - Closed back and wired per retailer: "Wired Circumaural Closed back" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/roland_vmh_d1.htm)
  - Plug and adapter per retailer: "3.5 mm to 6.3 mm jack adapter, 3 m cable and 1.5 m cable" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/roland_vmh_d1.htm)
  - Thomann US customer rating: "4.6 out of 5 stars from 39 customer ratings" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/roland_vmh_d1.htm)

### Yamaha HPH-MT8 Studio Monitor Headphones

Yamaha. studio headphones, over-ear, hardware. In the box: The headphones with a 1.2 m coiled cable, a 3.0 m straight cable, a threaded 6.3 mm gold-plated adaptor and a padded carrying bag.

Yamaha's MT Series studio monitor, with closed-back 45 mm drivers, earcups that move for one-ear monitoring and both a coiled and a straight cable, aimed at recording and mixing rather than at drums specifically. At 350 g without cable it is heavier than the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x, and Yamaha gives no isolation figure.

- Best for: Recording
- Not for: Not for loud acoustic play-along, since Yamaha gives no attenuation figure.
- Someone does it better: Audio-Technica's ATH-M50x is lighter at 285 g and ships with three detachable cables against the MT8's two.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - HPH-MT8, Black: $199.99 at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/yamaha-hph-mt8-monitor-headphones/j48910000001000)
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.7 (92) Thomann US; 4.5 (6) Musician's Friend
- Maker: https://usa.yamaha.com/products/proaudio/headphones/hph-mt8/index.html
- Sources:
  - Closed-back, over-ear: "Closed-back, Circumaural (Over Ear)" (https://usa.yamaha.com/products/proaudio/headphones/hph-mt8/specs.html)
  - Impedance: "37 Ω (at 1kHz)" (https://usa.yamaha.com/products/proaudio/headphones/hph-mt8/specs.html)
  - Driver: "45 mm, Dynamic, CCAW Voice Coil" (https://usa.yamaha.com/products/proaudio/headphones/hph-mt8/specs.html)
  - Cables: "1.2 m (3.9ft), coiled cable; 3.0 m (9.8ft), straight cable" (https://usa.yamaha.com/products/proaudio/headphones/hph-mt8/specs.html)
  - Plug: "3.5 mm (1/8”) stereo with 6.3 mm (1/4”) stereo adaptor" (https://usa.yamaha.com/products/proaudio/headphones/hph-mt8/specs.html)
  - Weight: "350g (0.8lbs) (Without cable&plug)" (https://usa.yamaha.com/products/proaudio/headphones/hph-mt8/specs.html)
  - Maker isolation wording, no dB figure: "Closed-back, circumaural design for excellent isolation" (https://usa.yamaha.com/products/proaudio/headphones/hph-mt8/index.html)
  - Single-ear monitoring: "Moveable earcups allow single-ear monitoring" (https://usa.yamaha.com/products/proaudio/headphones/hph-mt8/index.html)
  - Cables are detachable per retailer: "Cable: 3.9' coiled detachable cable and 9.8' straight detachable cable" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/yamaha-hph-mt8-monitor-headphones/j48910000001000)
  - Thomann US customer rating: "4.7 out of 5 stars from 92 customer ratings" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/yamaha_hph_mt8.htm)
  - Musician's Friend customer rating: "4.5 out of 5 stars with ( 6 ) total reviews" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/yamaha-hph-mt8-monitor-headphones/j48910000001000)

### Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Professional Monitor Headphones

Audio-Technica. studio headphones, over-ear, hardware. In the box: The headphones with three detachable cables (one coiled, two straight), a 6.3 mm adapter and a pouch.

A closed-back studio monitor on sale since 2014, with 45 mm drivers, cups that swivel 90 degrees for one-ear monitoring, three detachable cables and replacement earpads that Audio-Technica's Japanese site lists as sold separately, which suits recording and plugging into an e-kit module. Audio-Technica gives no attenuation figure, so it is not the pick for blocking out a loud acoustic kit.

- Best for: Recording
- Not for: Not for loud acoustic play-along, where an isolation headphone with a quoted dB figure, like the Direct Sound EX29 Plus, fits better.
- Someone does it better: Roland's VMH-D1 is tuned specifically for electronic drums and adds a cable restraint and a stand hanger for the kit.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - Black: $159 at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/audio-technica-ath-m50x-closed-back-studio-monitoring-headphones/j03731000001000)
  - White: $179 at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/audio-technica-ath-m50x-closed-back-studio-monitoring-headphones/j03731000003000)
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.7 (2k) Thomann US; 4.5 (71) Musician's Friend
- Maker: https://www.audio-technica.com/en-us/ath-m50x
- Sources:
  - Closed dynamic type (maker, Japanese site): "密閉ダイナミック型" (https://www.audio-technica.co.jp/product/ATH-M50x)
  - Impedance 38 ohm (maker, Japanese site): "インピーダンス 38Ω" (https://www.audio-technica.co.jp/product/ATH-M50x)
  - Weight without cord 285 g (maker, Japanese site): "質量(コード除く) 285g" (https://www.audio-technica.co.jp/product/ATH-M50x)
  - Replacement earpads HP-M50x sold separately (maker, Japanese site): "交換イヤパッド HP-M50x(BK/WH)" (https://www.audio-technica.co.jp/product/ATH-M50x)
  - Release date 14 Feb 2014 (maker, Japanese site): "2014年02月14日" (https://www.audio-technica.co.jp/product/ATH-M50x)
  - Retailer spec: detachable cables: "Detachable cable 1.2 m coiled cable 1.2 m and 3 m straight cables" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/audio_technica_ath_m50_x.htm)
  - Retailer spec: driver: "45 mm driver with neodymium magnet system and CCAW voice coils" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/audio_technica_ath_m50_x.htm)
  - Retailer spec: adapter: "Includes 6.3 mm adaptor and bag" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/audio_technica_ath_m50_x.htm)
  - Isolation wording per Musician's Friend listing, no dB figure: "Circumaural design contours around the ears for excellent sound isolation" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/audio-technica-ath-m50x-closed-back-studio-monitoring-headphones/j03731000001000)
  - Swiveling earcups: "90º swiveling earcups for easy, one-ear monitoring" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/audio-technica-ath-m50x-closed-back-studio-monitoring-headphones/j03731000001000)
  - Thomann US customer rating: "4.7 out of 5 stars from 1933 customer ratings" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/audio_technica_ath_m50_x.htm)
  - Musician's Friend customer rating: "4.5 out of 5 stars with ( 71 ) total reviews" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/audio-technica-ath-m50x-closed-back-studio-monitoring-headphones/j03731000001000)

### Sony MDR-7506

Sony. studio headphones, over-ear, hardware. In the box: The headphones with an attached coiled cord ending in a gold-plated Unimatch plug for 1/8 in and 1/4 in jacks, plus a carry pouch.

A closed-back studio headphone with 40 mm drivers, a 63 ohm load and a long coiled cord whose Unimatch plug fits both 1/8 in and 1/4 in jacks, so it plugs into an e-kit module or an audio interface without a separate adapter. Sony publishes no isolation figure and Thomann lists the cord as not replaceable, so for loud acoustic play-along, compare it with a model whose maker publishes an attenuation figure.

- Best for: E-kit practice, Recording
- Not for: Not for drummers who want a published isolation figure or a detachable cable, since Sony quotes no attenuation and Thomann lists the cable as not replaceable.
- Someone does it better: The Sennheiser HD 280 PRO publishes up to 32 dB of ambient noise attenuation, while Sony gives no isolation figure for the MDR-7506.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - MDR-7506: $114.99 at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/sony-mdr-7506-professional-closed-back-headphones/271056000000000)
  - MDR-7506, U.S. list price: $114.99 at Sony Pro (https://pro.sony/ue_US/products/headphones/mdr-7506)
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.7 (1k) Thomann; 5.0 (1) Musician's Friend
- Maker: https://pro.sony/ue_US/products/headphones/mdr-7506
- Sources:
  - Closed dynamic design: "Headphone Type Dynamic, closed" (https://pro.sony/ue_US/products/headphones/mdr-7506)
  - Driver size: "Driver Size 40.0 mm" (https://pro.sony/ue_US/products/headphones/mdr-7506)
  - Impedance: "Impedance 63 Ohms" (https://pro.sony/ue_US/products/headphones/mdr-7506)
  - Plug and cord length: "Plug Type Gold, Stereo Unimatch plug 1/4" and 1/8" Cord Length 9.8 ft" (https://pro.sony/ue_US/products/headphones/mdr-7506)
  - Weight: "Weight 8.1 oz" (https://pro.sony/ue_US/products/headphones/mdr-7506)
  - In the box: "come complete with protective carry pouch and gold-plated UnimatchTM 3.5mm/6.3mm adaptor" (https://pro.sony/ue_US/products/headphones/mdr-7506)
  - Coiled cable (retailer spec): "Cable type: Coiled" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/sony-mdr-7506-professional-closed-back-headphones/271056000000000)
  - No Bluetooth (retailer spec): "Bluetooth connectivity: No" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/sony-mdr-7506-professional-closed-back-headphones/271056000000000)
  - Cable not replaceable (retailer spec): "Replaceable Cable No" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/sony_mdr7506_kopfhoerer.htm)
  - Replacement ear pads are sold for this model: "Suitable for Sony MDR-7506 and MDR-V6" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/sony_mdr7506_ohrpolster.htm)
  - Thomann customer rating: "4.7 out of 5 stars from 1297 customer ratings" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/sony_mdr7506_kopfhoerer.htm)

### beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO

beyerdynamic. studio headphones, over-ear, hardware. In the box: The headphones with a fixed single-sided cable ending in a gold-plated 3.5 mm plug, plus a 6.35 mm adapter; the cable is straight on the 32 and 80 ohm versions and coiled on the 250 ohm.

A closed-back studio headphone sold in 32, 80 and 250 ohm versions with replaceable pads, and beyerdynamic says every component can be replaced, which suits years of e-kit practice and recording. Pick the impedance for your source (beyerdynamic labels 32 ohm for mobile devices, 80 ohm universal studio, 250 ohm professional devices) and know its isolation claim is modest at approx. 18 dBA for the 80 and 250 ohm versions.

- Best for: E-kit practice, Recording, Long sessions
- Not for: Not for drummers who mainly need strong isolation over a loud acoustic kit, since beyerdynamic quotes approx. 18 dBA for the 80 and 250 ohm versions and the cable is fixed.
- Someone does it better: The Sennheiser HD 280 PRO claims up to 32 dB of ambient noise attenuation against beyerdynamic's approx. 18 dBA for the 80 and 250 ohm DT 770 PRO.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - 32 ohm: $159.99 (regular $199.99) at beyerdynamic US store (https://www.beyerdynamic.com/p/dt-770-pro)
  - 80 ohm: $159.99 (regular $199.99) at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/beyerdynamic-dt-770-pro-80-closed-studio-headphones/272025000000000)
  - 250 ohm: $159.99 (regular $199.99) at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/beyerdynamic-dt-770-pro-closed-studio-headphones--250-ohms/272024000000000)
  - Note: Sale price (beyerdynamic Fall Deal Days and Musician's Friend sale) with the regular price in was. beyerdynamic's US store shows the same sale and regular price for all three impedances; the 32 ohm price is read from that page's variant data. Musician's Friend did not list the 32 ohm version.
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.8 (5k) Thomann; 4.5 (43) Musician's Friend; 4.5 (10) Musician's Friend
- Maker: https://www.beyerdynamic.com/p/dt-770-pro
- Sources:
  - Closed-back model of the range: "The DT 770 PRO headphones is the range’s closed-back model" (https://www.beyerdynamic.com/p/dt-770-pro)
  - Three impedance versions: "32, 80 & 250 ohms (closed)" (https://www.beyerdynamic.com/p/dt-770-pro)
  - Ambient noise isolation of the 32 ohm version (spec sheet line: Ambient noise isolation, 32 ohm version): "approx. 20 dBA" (https://api.beyerdynamic.de/amfile/file/download/file/865/)
  - Ambient noise isolation of the 80 and 250 ohm versions (retailer spec repeating beyerdynamic's figure): "Noise attenuation: Approx. 18dBA (80 ohm/250 ohm)" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/beyerdynamic-dt-770-pro-closed-studio-headphones--250-ohms/272024000000000)
  - Cable length and type by version (spec sheet): "1.6 m / straight cable (32 Ω) 3 m / straight cable (80 Ω) 3 m / coiled cable (250 Ω)" (https://api.beyerdynamic.de/amfile/file/download/file/865/)
  - Weight of the 80 ohm version (spec sheet; 325 g for 32 ohm and 380 g for 250 ohm on neighbouring lines): "345 g" (https://api.beyerdynamic.de/amfile/file/download/file/865/)
  - Weight of the 250 ohm version (retailer spec): "Weight (250 ohm): 13.4 oz (380 g)" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/beyerdynamic-dt-770-pro-closed-studio-headphones--250-ohms/272024000000000)
  - Replacement ear pads listed (spec sheet): "EDT 770 V Ear pads, velours, circumaural" (https://api.beyerdynamic.de/amfile/file/download/file/865/)
  - Replaceable ear pads: "High wearing comfort thanks to soft, circumaural and replaceable ear pads" (https://www.beyerdynamic.com/p/dt-770-pro)
  - Wired only: "Transmission Type Wired" (https://www.beyerdynamic.com/p/dt-770-pro)
  - Plug and adapter: "Straight connecting cable with mini-jack plug (3.5 mm) & ¼“ adapter (6.35 mm)" (https://www.beyerdynamic.com/p/dt-770-pro)
  - Classic DT models have fixed cables: "the classic DT models have fixed cables" (https://www.beyerdynamic.com/p/dt-770-pro)
  - All components replaceable: "all the components used are replaceable if necessary" (https://www.beyerdynamic.com/p/dt-770-pro)
  - Long sessions: "so nothing stands in the way of long studio sessions" (https://www.beyerdynamic.com/p/dt-770-pro)
  - Thomann customer rating, 80 ohm version: "4.8 out of 5 stars from 5405 customer ratings" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/beyerdynamic_dt_770_pro_80_ohm.htm)

### Sennheiser HD 280 PRO

Sennheiser. studio headphones, over-ear, hardware. In the box: The headphones with an attached single-sided coiled cable and 3.5 mm plug, a 3.5 mm to 6.3 mm adapter and a safety guide.

Sennheiser claims up to 32 dB of ambient noise attenuation for this closed, circumaural design, so it suits playing along to music on an acoustic kit as well as e-kit practice and tracking. Sennheiser lists its contact pressure at 6 N and Thomann lists the coiled cable as not replaceable, so try the fit if you are sensitive to headband pressure, and expect a fixed cable.

- Best for: Over an acoustic kit, E-kit practice, Recording
- Not for: Not for players who are sensitive to clamping force or who want a detachable cable.
- Someone does it better: The AKG K371 ships with three detachable cables, while Thomann lists the HD 280 PRO cable as not replaceable.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - HD 280 PRO, black: $99.95 at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/sennheiser-hd-280-pro-closed-back-headphones/j42590000001000)
  - Note: Sennheiser's US product page carries the same 99.95 USD offer in its structured data, but no visible price text, so it is not listed as a line.
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.5 (305) Thomann; 4.5 (44) Musician's Friend
- Maker: https://www.sennheiser.com/en-us/catalog/products/headphones/hd-280-pro/hd-280-pro-506845
- Sources:
  - Attenuation claim: "High ambient noise attenuation (up to 32 dB)" (https://www.sennheiser.com/en-us/catalog/products/headphones/hd-280-pro/hd-280-pro-506845)
  - Replaceable ear pads: "Soft, replaceable earpads for extended comfort" (https://www.sennheiser.com/en-us/catalog/products/headphones/hd-280-pro/hd-280-pro-506845)
  - Coiled cable: "Single-sided, coiled cable for flexibility and durability" (https://www.sennheiser.com/en-us/catalog/products/headphones/hd-280-pro/hd-280-pro-506845)
  - Plug and adapter: "Industry-standard 3.5 mm plug with 6.3 mm adapter" (https://www.sennheiser.com/en-us/catalog/products/headphones/hd-280-pro/hd-280-pro-506845)
  - Weight: "Lightweight design at 285g (without cable)" (https://www.sennheiser.com/en-us/catalog/products/headphones/hd-280-pro/hd-280-pro-506845)
  - Cable length: "Coiled Cable (min. 1.3m / max. 3m)" (https://www.sennheiser.com/en-us/catalog/products/headphones/hd-280-pro/hd-280-pro-506845)
  - Pad set sold as a spare part: "Pad Set (2016+)" (https://www.sennheiser.com/en-us/catalog/products/headphones/hd-280-pro/hd-280-pro-506845)
  - Closed, circumaural design (spec sheet, in the maker's spelling): "Accoustic principle dynamic, closed Ear coupling circumaural" (https://assets.sennheiser.com/download/assets/HD_280_PRO_Product_Specification_EN.pdf/169679ace7b711f0ae307aeaa9c3764a)
  - Contact pressure (spec sheet): "Contact pressure 6 N" (https://assets.sennheiser.com/download/assets/HD_280_PRO_Product_Specification_EN.pdf/169679ace7b711f0ae307aeaa9c3764a)
  - Impedance (spec sheet): "Nominal impedance 64 Ω" (https://assets.sennheiser.com/download/assets/HD_280_PRO_Product_Specification_EN.pdf/169679ace7b711f0ae307aeaa9c3764a)
  - Cable not replaceable (retailer spec): "Replacable Cable No" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/sennheiser_hd_280_pro_new.htm)
  - Thomann customer rating: "4.5 out of 5 stars from 305 customer ratings" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/sennheiser_hd_280_pro_new.htm)

### AKG K371

AKG. studio headphones, over-ear, hardware. In the box: The headphones with three detachable cables (3 m coiled, 3 m straight and 1.2 m straight), a 1/4 in adapter and a carrying pouch.

A light closed-back studio headphone at 255 g with 50 mm drivers, a 32 ohm load and three detachable cables, so a damaged cable on an e-kit or home studio setup is a swap rather than a repair. AKG gives no isolation figure and replacement ear pads could not be confirmed, so check pad availability before counting on it for years of daily practice.

- Best for: E-kit practice, Recording, Long sessions
- Not for: Not for buyers who want a stated isolation number or confirmed replacement ear pads.
- Someone does it better: The Sennheiser HD 280 PRO publishes an attenuation figure, up to 32 dB, where AKG gives none for the K371.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - K371, black: $199 at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/akg-k371-closed-back-studio-headphones/l59824000001000)
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.4 (335) Thomann; 4.0 (16) Musician's Friend
- Maker: https://www.akg.com/Headphones/Professional%20Headphones/K371.html
- Sources:
  - Closed dynamic, 50 mm driver (retailer spec): "Operating principle: Closed dynamic" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/akg-k371-closed-back-studio-headphones/l59824000001000)
  - Driver size (retailer spec): "Driver size: 50 mm" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/akg-k371-closed-back-studio-headphones/l59824000001000)
  - Impedance (AKG copy at retailer): "Superior sensitivity (114dB SPL/V @ 1kHz) and impedance (32 ohms)" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/akg-k371-closed-back-studio-headphones/l59824000001000)
  - Detachable cables in the box: "cables include 3 m (9.8’) coiled cable, 3 m (9.8') and 1.2 m (2.5’) straight cables and a 1/4" adapter." (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/akg-k371-closed-back-studio-headphones/l59824000001000)
  - Isolation wording, no figure: "The K371’s over-ear, closed-back design provides superior isolation in noisy environments." (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/akg-k371-closed-back-studio-headphones/l59824000001000)
  - Comfort for long sessions: "their feather-light weight keeps ear fatigue at bay, even on the longest listening sessions" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/akg-k371-closed-back-studio-headphones/l59824000001000)
  - Weight and box contents (retailer spec): "Includes 2 straight cables (3 m and 1.2 m long) and a 3 m spiral cable, 6.3 mm adapter and storage bag" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/akg_k_371.htm)
  - Weight (retailer spec): "Weight: 255 g" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/akg_k_371.htm)
  - Thomann customer rating: "4.4 out of 5 stars from 335 customer ratings" (https://www.thomannmusic.com/akg_k_371.htm)
  - Maker specs: cable lengths, driver size, impedance: "Cable(s) length (m) 1.2, 3 & 3 Driver size (mm) 50 Rated impedance (Ω) 32" (https://www.akg.com/K371.html)
  - Maker weight: "Weight (g) 255" (https://www.akg.com/K371.html)
  - Detachable cable (maker spec): "Detachable cable Yes" (https://www.akg.com/K371.html)
  - In the box (maker): "2 x Straight cables - 3.0 m (9.8') and 1.2 m (2.5') 1 x Coiled cable - 3.0 m (9.8')" (https://www.akg.com/K371.html)
  - Isolation wording on the maker page, no figure: "Superior isolation and improved low-frequency response to hear all the details" (https://www.akg.com/K371.html)

### Shure SE215

Shure. in-ear monitors, in-ear, hardware. In the box: The earphones, a detachable 3.5 mm cable (64 in), a soft zip case, and black foam plus soft flex sleeves in S, M and L.

A single dynamic driver in-ear that Shure says blocks up to 37 dB of noise, with a detachable MMCX cable and the low-profile fit Shure says musicians use for on-stage monitoring, so it works on a personal monitor pack or for playing along on an acoustic kit. There is no 6.3 mm adapter in the box, so an e-kit module with only a 1/4 in headphone jack needs one bought separately.

- Best for: In-ears on stage, Over an acoustic kit
- Not for: Not for drummers who dislike sleeves in the ear canal or who want an over-ear headphone they can slip on and off between songs.
- Someone does it better: The KZ ZS10 Pro uses five drivers per side, one dynamic and four balanced armatures, where the SE215 has a single dynamic driver.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - SE215, black: $119 at Musician's Friend (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/shure-se215-dynamic-microdriver-earphones/h72276000002000)
  - Note: Shure's US store page carries the same 119 USD price for the clear and black versions in its page data.
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.5 (131) Musician's Friend
- Maker: https://www.shure.com/en-US/products/earphones/se215
- Sources:
  - Isolation claim: "Sound Isolating™ technology blocks up to 37 dB of noise to eliminate distractions." (https://www.shure.com/en-US/products/earphones/se215)
  - Stage monitoring design: "Built with the same low-profile design musicians use for monitoring on-stage." (https://www.shure.com/en-US/products/earphones/se215)
  - Detachable MMCX cable: "Detachable 3.5 mm cable allows the SE215 Earphones to attach to different cable accessories with an MMCX connection" (https://www.shure.com/en-US/products/earphones/se215)
  - Bluetooth only through a separate adapter: "including the True Wireless Secure Fit Adapter for Bluetooth connection." (https://www.shure.com/en-US/products/earphones/se215)
  - Cable length in the box: "3.5 mm clear cable (64")" (https://www.shure.com/en-US/products/earphones/se215)
  - Sleeves included and replaceable: "fit kit with a variety of sleeves for the perfect fit" (https://www.shure.com/en-US/products/earphones/se215)
  - Single dynamic driver (retailer spec): "Speaker type: Single Dynamic MicroDriver" (https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/shure-se215-dynamic-microdriver-earphones/h72276000002000)
  - Impedance (Shure product page data, not visible text): ""label":"Impedance","value":"17 Ω"" (https://www.shure.com/en-US/products/earphones/se215)
  - Weight (Shure product page data, not visible text): ""label":"Weight","value":"30 g"" (https://www.shure.com/en-US/products/earphones/se215)

### KZ ZS10 Pro

KZ (Knowledge Zenith). in-ear monitors, in-ear, hardware. In the box: The earphones with a detachable 2-pin cable, with or without an inline mic depending on the version; Linsoul lists the box as the earphones and a user manual.

A budget hybrid in-ear with one dynamic and four balanced armature drivers per side, a detachable 2-pin cable and a 3.5 mm plug, which makes it a low-cost way to try in-ear monitoring from a personal mixer or a click. KZ sells it through its Amazon and AliExpress stores and Linsoul ships it from China rather than through US music retailers, and KZ already lists newer versions (ZS10 Pro X, ZS10 Pro 2) next to it.

- Best for: In-ears on stage, Over an acoustic kit
- Not for: Not for buyers who want a US music retailer and a long warranty; Linsoul gives one year on the earphones and three months on the cable.
- Someone does it better: The Shure SE215 claims more isolation, up to 37 dB against KZ's about 26 dB, and is stocked by US retailers such as Musician's Friend with a two-year Shure warranty.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - Without mic: $49.99 at Linsoul (https://www.linsoul.com/products/kz-zs10-pro)
  - With mic: $50.99 at Linsoul (https://www.linsoul.com/products/kz-zs10-pro)
  - Note: No Sweetwater, Musician's Friend or KZ US store listing; KZ's own site links buyers to its Amazon and AliExpress stores, which this research does not use. Linsoul, which calls itself an authorized distributor, sells in US dollars but ships from China, and listed the item as a 2 to 3 week pre-order today.
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 4.2 (94) Linsoul
- Maker: https://kz-audio.com/kz-zs10-pro.html
- Sources:
  - Driver configuration: "One Side 4 balanced armature 1 dynamic" (https://kz-audio.com/kz-zs10-pro.html)
  - Isolation claim: "KZ earphones can directly isolate about 26dB of noise when properly played without music." (https://kz-audio.com/kz-zs10-pro.html)
  - Detachable 2-pin cable: "The self-developed 0.75mm gold-plated pin plug-in structure expands the richer sound by replacing the upgraded cable." (https://kz-audio.com/kz-zs10-pro.html)
  - Bluetooth only with a separately bought cable: "* Need to purchase a Upgrade cable separately" (https://kz-audio.com/kz-zs10-pro.html)
  - Maker specs: "Weight: 32±3g Wear: Earhook Sensitivity: 111dB Impedance: 30Ω" (https://kz-audio.com/kz-zs10-pro.html)
  - Cable length and plug: "Line Length: 125±5cm PlugType: 3.5mm Pin Type: 0.75mm" (https://kz-audio.com/kz-zs10-pro.html)
  - KZ ear tips fit its wired earphones: "KZ LS01 is compatible with all KZ wired earphones" (https://kz-audio.com/kz-ls01.html)
  - Where KZ sends buyers: "Official store on Amazon US" (https://kz-audio.com/kz-zs10-pro.html)
  - Linsoul ships from China: "We are located in China but send our products worldwide for free." (https://www.linsoul.com/products/kz-zs10-pro)
  - Linsoul warranty: "Comes with a 1 year warranty on In-Ear Monitors and 3 month warranty on the cable." (https://www.linsoul.com/products/kz-zs10-pro)

### ISOtunes PRO 2.0

ISOtunes. isolating headphones, in-ear, hardware. In the box: The Bluetooth earbuds with a variety pack of foam and silicone eartips, a charging cable, cable management clips, an alligator clip and a travel case.

A Bluetooth earbud set with a 27 dB noise reduction rating (NRR) that ISOtunes calls ANSI-certified and a volume cap ISOtunes puts at 85 dB, which lets a drummer stream play-along music from a phone while playing an acoustic kit. ISOtunes markets it for work sites, not for musicians: the page title calls it OSHA-compliant and the shop menu lists hunting and shooting, industry, construction, lawncare and woodworking. It adds a Bluetooth link whose delay ISOtunes does not publish, so it is a poor monitor for an electronic kit.

- Best for: Over an acoustic kit
- Not for: Not for electronic kit practice or stage monitoring, where Bluetooth delay and a work-site design get in the way.
- Someone does it better: A wired in-ear such as the Shure SE215 has no Bluetooth link to add delay with an e-kit and plugs straight into a stage monitor pack.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-08):
  - PRO 2.0, Safety Orange: $109.99 at ISOtunes (https://isotunes.com/products/isotunes-pro-2)
  - Note: Sold direct by ISOtunes in the US (it does not ship internationally); not found at Sweetwater or Musician's Friend. The Matte Black version was out of stock today.
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Retail ratings: 3.9 (10) ISOtunes
- Maker: https://isotunes.com/products/isotunes-pro-2
- Sources:
  - Noise reduction rating, the maker's figure: "ANSI-Certified 27 dB noise reduction rating (NRR)" (https://isotunes.com/products/isotunes-pro-2)
  - Volume cap, the maker's claim: "SafeMax Technology™ limits volume output to 85 dB" (https://isotunes.com/products/isotunes-pro-2)
  - Bluetooth version: "Bluetooth 5.1, supports dual pairing" (https://isotunes.com/products/isotunes-pro-2)
  - In the box: "PRO 2.0 comes with a variety pack of foam and silicone eartips, a charging cable, cable management clips" (https://isotunes.com/products/isotunes-pro-2)
  - Replacement eartips sold: "TRILOGY™ Tall Foam Replacement Eartips (5 pair pack)" (https://isotunes.com/products/isotunes-pro-2)
  - Audience: work professionals: "Our best-selling product redesigned to meet the needs of our toughest professional customers." (https://isotunes.com/products/isotunes-pro-2)
  - Eartips come in several sizes (manual): "There are multiple sizes of eartips." (https://haventechnologies.canto.com/direct/document/n4iv4nhffh0vnebso7n4bbj17s/6Z5DIg1icRNezX6RNMuoJYmJemg/original?content-type=application%2Fpdf&name=ISOtunes_PRO-2.0_IT-21_IT-23_IT-29_OnlineManual.pdf)
  - Not marketed to musicians: site search: "1 result found for "musician"" (https://isotunes.com/search?q=musician)
  - Marketed for work sites: page title: "ISOtunes PRO 2.0 Bluetooth Headphones | 27 NRR | IP67 | OSHA-Compliant" (https://isotunes.com/products/isotunes-pro-2)
  - Marketed for work sites: shop menu: "Shop By Activity Hunting & Shooting Industry Construction Lawncare Woodworking" (https://isotunes.com/products/isotunes-pro-2)

## What we found

### Half the makers publish no isolation figure

Seven of the fourteen give a number for how much outside sound they block. The other seven, including the headphones made for electronic kits, describe isolation in words only, such as "excellent isolation". If you play an acoustic kit along to music, start with the models that publish a figure.

### The figures are not measured the same way

Direct Sound quotes passive attenuation, beyerdynamic quotes dBA, Shure says "up to", and ISOtunes gives a US NRR. Two numbers from different makers are not a like-for-like comparison, so read the words next to each figure in the table.

### Wireless is the exception

Every model here connects by cable except ISOtunes PRO 2.0, which is Bluetooth and is sold for work sites rather than music. For an electronic kit, the kit's headphone output and a cable remain the norm on this page.

## How we checked

**Where the facts come from.** Every spec, feature tick and claim comes from the maker's own page, a store listing, a manual or a retailer's spec sheet, read on 2026-10-07, and the exact words relied on are kept with each row (open "Sources" on any card). Store ratings and review counts are the stores' own on that date, pulled through Sonar, an app-store analytics service. A feature is marked yes only when one of those sources says it; when none does, it is shown as unknown rather than as no.

**How it was checked.** Every row was researched once and then handed to a second, independent pass whose only job was to break it: open the same pages, check every spec, every tick, every rating and every quote. Rows it could not confirm were corrected, marked unknown, or dropped before publishing.

**What this page does not measure yet.** We have not put a drum recording through every app at half speed and compared how the hits survive. Time-stretching smears sharp attacks, and drums are all sharp attacks, so it matters; when we test it, the method will be here.

**Prices.** Every price is in US dollars, read on 2026-10-07 on the store or page named next to it, with a link: Sweetwater, Musician's Friend or the maker's own store for gear and books, the US App Store's in-app purchase list or the maker's pricing page for apps. When a maker sells for less on its own website than in the app, both are shown. Prices change, so the date is part of the fact: check the store before you buy. Nothing on this page is an affiliate link.

**Hearing.** This page reports each maker's own isolation or attenuation figure, in the maker's words, and makes no health claim. For context, NIOSH set "a recommended exposure limit (REL) of 85 A-weighted decibels (dBA) averaged over an eight-hour workday" ([NIOSH](https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/noise/about/noise.html)), and the WHO says "you can safely listen to a sound level of 80dB for up to 40 hours a week" ([WHO](https://www.who.int/news-room/questions-and-answers/item/deafness-and-hearing-loss-safe-listening)). For anything about your own hearing, ask an audiologist.

## FAQ

### What headphones do drummers use to hear music over the drums?

Isolating headphones whose makers state how much outside sound they block, such as the Direct Sound EX-29 Plus (36.7 dB of passive attenuation, by Direct Sound's figure) and Vic Firth's isolation headphones (25 dB), or sealed in-ears such as the Shure SE215 (up to 37 dB, by Shure's figure).

### Can I use studio headphones with an electronic kit?

Yes. Every wired model here plugs into a kit's headphone output; the Plug column shows the connector and whether an adapter is included. Closed-back models keep more of the kit's sound in your ears and less of the room.

### Do in-ear monitors work for drumming?

Shure and KZ sell in-ears that seal in the ear canal; their makers state up to 37 dB and about 26 dB of isolation. A good seal depends on the fit of the tips.

### How loud is too loud?

For context, NIOSH set a recommended exposure limit of 85 dBA averaged over an eight-hour workday, and the WHO says 80 dB is safe for up to 40 hours a week. For anything about your own hearing, ask an audiologist.

## Related

- [Earplugs for drummers compared](https://upbeat.studio/compare/earplugs-for-drummers)
- [Electronic drum kits compared](https://upbeat.studio/compare/electronic-drum-kits)
- [Quiet drum practice gear compared](https://upbeat.studio/compare/quiet-drum-practice)
