---
title: "Best Apps to Learn Drums: Lessons, Practice and Rudiments"
description: "Drum learning apps compared: video lessons, apps that score your playing, practice planners and rudiment trainers, with prices, ratings and limits."
author: "Raul Rodrigues"
publishedAt: 2026-10-08
checkedOn: 2026-10-07
canonical: https://upbeat.studio/compare/drum-learning-apps/
---

# Apps to learn drums, compared: lessons, practice and rudiments

The right drum app depends first on whether you want to be taught or to be checked. Drumeo and Mike's Lessons teach through long video courses from working drummers, and their feedback comes from people who watch a video you send. Melodics, Drumr, Beatlii and InstaDrum grade what you play, most of them from an electronic kit over MIDI. Practice planners and rudiment trainers such as Drumbitious, Drum Journal and Chops organize the practice you already know you need. The table compares 14 apps on what they hear, what they teach, what is free and what they cost in the US today.

> Upbeat Studio makes one of the apps in this table, Drum Coach. It is not ranked anywhere on this page: it sits in the table with the same columns and the same criticism as every other row, and the picker never shortlists it. Where it does not fit, the page says so.

Checked on 2026-10-07. 14 tools. Prices are US dollars as listed on the named store on the date given with each row; they change, so check the store before buying.

## What you need, and what decides the pick

- **First steps.** I'm starting from zero, maybe without a kit. What decides it: lessons that start at holding the sticks, and whether it works on a pad or your knees.
- **Feedback.** I want to know if I played it right. What decides it: what it listens to (an e-kit over MIDI, a microphone, screen taps) and how it scores you.
- **Video teachers.** I learn best from a teacher on video. What decides it: the size and level of the lesson library and who teaches it.
- **Daily plan.** I want to be told what to practice today. What decides it: a plan that adapts to you, and how long a session takes.
- **Rudiments.** I want to build my hands with rudiments. What decides it: all 40 rudiments with notation, a click that ramps, and tracking.
- **Songs.** I want to play real songs. What decides it: the song library, whether the songs are the originals, and slowing them down.

## The table

| Tool | Maker | Kind | Platforms | Price (US) | Lessons taught on video by drummers | Grades what you play, note by note | How it hears you, as the maker states: MIDI e-kit, microphone, screen taps, or none | A daily or weekly plan built for you | Songs to learn or play along to | Rudiment lessons or drills | Shows drum notation | Usable without a drum kit (pad, hands or taps) | What is free, as the maker states | App Store | Google Play | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Drum Coach by Upbeat Studio (ours) | Upbeat Studio | practice planner | iOS, Android | Free, or $14.99/mo or from $59.99/yr (freemium) | yes | yes | MIDI e-kit only, in beta on iOS and Android, exercises only; no acoustic kit or pad listening | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes | 7-day free trial, free demo sessions and the start of the Drumming Essentials course | 4.7 (433) | 4.5 (2k) | Daily plan, First steps, Rudiments |
| Drumeo (Musora app) | Musora Media Inc. | lessons | iOS, Android, Web | from $29.99/mo or $279/yr (subscription) | yes | unknown | none stated by the maker; Musora mentors review videos you submit | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes | 7-day free trial; some free lessons with a free drumeo.com account | 4.7 (3k) | 4.2 (2k) | Video teachers, Songs, First steps |
| Melodics | Melodics Limited | lessons | Windows, macOS, iOS | Free, or $34.99/mo or from $179.88/yr (freemium) | unknown | yes | MIDI e-kit; microphone for acoustic kits and practice pads | unknown | yes | yes | unknown | yes | 20 free lessons on iPhone; 20 on iPad with five minutes a day; 7-day desktop trial | 4.7 (620) | not on this store | Feedback, Songs, Rudiments, First steps |
| Beatlii: Drum Lessons | Beatlii; iOS listing published by Musora Media Inc. | lessons | iOS, Android, Windows, macOS | Free, or $14.99/mo or $99.99/yr (freemium) | unknown | yes | MIDI e-kit by Bluetooth or cable; screen taps for finger drumming | unknown | yes | unknown | yes | yes | 21 free lessons and 2 free courses; 7-day trial on the annual plan | 4.0 (176) | 3.0 (430) | Feedback, Songs |
| InstaDrum - Be a Drummer Now | Wanaka (iOS seller Xiaoyezi Beijing Technology Co., Ltd.) | lessons | iOS, Android | $19.99/mo or $99.99/yr (subscription) | unknown | yes | electronic drums, roll-up pads or drum machines by Bluetooth or cable; on-screen virtual drum | unknown | yes | unknown | yes | yes | not stated by the maker | 4.7 (2k) | 3.5 (380) | Songs, Feedback, First steps |
| Drum School: Groove like a PRO (Ferenc Nemeth) | Ferenc Nemeth | lessons | iOS, Android, macOS | $24.99 (one-time) | yes | unknown | none stated by the maker | unknown | yes | yes | yes | unknown | none; paid app | 4.8 (255) | 4.4 (161) | Rudiments, Video teachers |
| Drumr - Learn & Practice Drums | Drumr Inc. | lessons | iOS | Free, or $12.99/mo or $79.99/yr (freemium) | yes | yes | MIDI e-kit; microphone on a practice pad with AirPods or Apple wired headphones | unknown | yes | yes | yes | yes | 70+ free scores including all 40 PAS rudiments; 7-day Premium trial | 4.4 (92) | not on this store | Rudiments, Feedback |
| Drumbitious: Drum Practice App | Verena Zaiser | practice planner | iOS, Android | Free, or $1.99/mo or $14.99/yr (freemium) | no | unknown | none stated by the maker | yes | unknown | yes | unknown | unknown | Free plan with the basic exercise library and practice plans; Premium trial of 3 days on monthly and 7 days on yearly | 4.9 (8) | 4.7 (57) | Daily plan |
| Drum Journal: Practice Routine | Porath Consulting GmbH | practice planner | iOS | Free, or $4.99/mo or $34.99/yr (freemium) | unknown | yes | microphone, on a practice pad or a kit | unknown | unknown | yes | yes | yes | All core practice features free with limited exercise slots; Pro adds unlimited exercises, full analytics and all music moods | 5.0 (9) | not on this store | Feedback, Rudiments, Daily plan |
| Chops: Drum Rudiments | Digital Staves Ltd | rudiment trainer | iOS | Free, or $2.99/mo or $29.99/yr (freemium) | unknown | unknown | none stated by the maker | yes | unknown | yes | yes | yes | Not stated by the maker; free access for schools and eligible ensembles on application | 4.7 (15) | not on this store | Rudiments, Daily plan |
| Metronome & Rudiment Practice | Koen Jacobs (cougnes) | rudiment trainer | iOS, macOS | Free, or $2.99/mo or $24.99/yr (freemium) | unknown | unknown | none stated by the maker | unknown | unknown | yes | yes | unknown | Core metronome and full rudiment library free; gap training and auto-increment free for 2 sessions | 4.6 (31) | not on this store | Rudiments |
| Mike's Lessons | Mike Johnston (mikeslessons.com) | lessons | Web | $29.99/mo or $269.90/yr (subscription) | yes | unknown | videos you submit for Mike to review | unknown | yes | unknown | yes | yes | One-week free trial with access to all courses | not on this store | not on this store | Video teachers, Songs, First steps |
| Real Drum: electronic drum set | Kolb Apps (KOLB SISTEMAS - EIRELI) | drum game | iOS, Android, Web, Windows | Free, or $3.99/mo or $12.99/yr (freemium) | yes | unknown | screen taps; MIDI support listed | unknown | unknown | unknown | unknown | yes | Part of the over 100 lessons free with ads; Premium unlocks all lessons | 4.5 (49k) | 4.5 (1.7M) | First steps |
| Drums: Learn & Play Beat Games | MWM | drum game | iOS | Free, or $18.99/mo or $75.99/yr (freemium) | unknown | yes | screen taps | unknown | yes | unknown | unknown | yes | Free trial of the subscription; songs outside the Premium catalog and some kits are free | 4.4 (32k) | not on this store | First steps |

Legend: yes = the store listing or the maker says so; no = not there; unknown = neither says.

## One by one

### Drum Coach by Upbeat Studio (made by Upbeat Studio, disclosed)

Upbeat Studio. practice planner, iOS, Android, freemium. Free tier: A 7-day free trial, free demo sessions and the start of the Drumming Essentials beginner course; full access to plans and guided sessions needs a subscription or the lifetime unlock.

Drum Coach builds a daily practice plan from your goals, available time and setup, then serves guided exercises for rudiments, grooves and fills that you can play on a kit, a practice pad or your lap. Know before choosing that it only scores what you play when a MIDI e-kit is connected, a beta feature limited to exercises, so on an acoustic kit or a pad it guides you but does not grade you.

- Best for: Daily plan, First steps, Rudiments
- Not for: Drummers who want an app to hear and grade their acoustic kit or practice pad, or who want a deep library of video courses from famous teachers.
- Someone does it better: Melodics grades your playing on an acoustic kit or practice pad through the microphone, which Drum Coach does not do.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Premium, monthly: $14.99/mo at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-coach-learn-drums-guided/id6443453750)
  - Premium, yearly: $99.99/yr at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-coach-learn-drums-guided/id6443453750)
  - Premium, yearly, in some in-app offers: $59.99/yr at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-coach-learn-drums-guided/id6443453750)
  - Lifetime, in some in-app offers: $249.99 at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-coach-learn-drums-guided/id6443453750)
  - Note: Free to download with a free trial. The App Store page lists more yearly prices from older or limited offers; the lines above are the plans the app offers new US subscribers today (checked in App Store Connect and RevenueCat).
- App Store: 4.7 (433) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-coach-learn-drums-guided/id6443453750)
- Google Play: 4.5 (2k) (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.drumap.drumcoach&hl=en&gl=us)
- Maker: https://upbeat.studio/drum-coach/
- Sources:
  - Personalized practice plan: "A personalized practice plan based on your goals, available time, setup and learning preferences to guide every session." (https://upbeat.studio/drum-coach/)
  - Usable without a kit: "A practice pad, or your hands on your lap." (https://upbeat.studio/drum-coach/)
  - 7-day trial: "7-day free trial included" (https://upbeat.studio/drum-coach/)
  - E-drum connection is beta, apps only: "E-drums is currently in beta on iOS and Android (not on web)." (https://upbeat.studio/drum-coach/support/how-to-connect-e-drums/)
  - Scoring of e-drum hits in exercises: "Exercises and practice sessions with live e-drum hits, scoring, pad calibration, and delay calibration." (https://upbeat.studio/drum-coach/support/how-to-connect-e-drums/)
  - Songs not yet scored on e-drums: "Songs are not ready for e-drums yet" (https://upbeat.studio/drum-coach/support/how-to-connect-e-drums/)
  - Rudiments among the exercise types: "The exercises in Drum Coach include drum rudiments, drum speed, drum independence, drum coordination, rhythm training" (https://upbeat.studio/drum-coach/support/)
  - Exercises come with video: "daily interactive drum exercises with video and animations" (https://upbeat.studio/drum-coach/support/)
  - What is free: "either by participating in a free trial, using our free demo sessions or by starting the Drumming Essentials course." (https://upbeat.studio/drum-coach/support/)
  - Play-along songs: "Play-Along Songs: Put your practice into action by drumming along to real music." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-coach-learn-drums-guided/id6443453750)
  - Sheet music with a cursor: "track video playback seamlessly on your sheet music with our new dynamic cursor" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-coach-learn-drums-guided/id6443453750)
  - Paid teacher feedback on recordings: "Real Teacher Feedback: Share a recording of your playing and get personalized feedback from our team of pro drummers." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-coach-learn-drums-guided/id6443453750)
  - Course videos in the app: "Course videos now load seamlessly without crashing." (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.drumap.drumcoach&hl=en&gl=us)

### Drumeo (Musora app)

Musora Media Inc.. lessons, iOS, Android, Web, subscription. Free tier: A 7-day free trial with full access, then a monthly or annual Musora membership that also covers piano, guitar, bass and singing; a free drumeo.com account opens a few free lessons.

Drumeo gives a drummer follow-along video lessons from well-known teachers, a step-by-step method path, rudiment lessons and a large transcribed song library where you can remove the drums, slow the tempo and loop parts, in the Musora app and on the web. Know before choosing that Musora describes no listening to or scoring of your playing: its lessons need no MIDI, and personal feedback comes from Musora mentors who review videos you submit.

- Best for: Video teachers, Songs, First steps
- Not for: Drummers who want the app itself to grade their timing note by note as they play.
- Someone does it better: Melodics listens to your kit, pad or e-drums and scores every lesson in real time, while Drumeo leaves feedback to human mentors.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Musora with songs, monthly: $30/mo at Musora website (https://www.musora.com/choose-plan)
  - Musora with songs, annual: $279/yr at Musora website (https://www.musora.com/choose-plan)
  - Musora Monthly Membership: $29.99/mo at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/musora-the-music-lessons-app/id1460388277)
  - Musora Annual Membership: $279/yr at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/musora-the-music-lessons-app/id1460388277)
  - Note: Both website plans start with a 7-day free trial and a 90-day money-back guarantee. A lessons-only plan without songs is $25/month or $229/year on the same page. The App Store also lists Drumeo Edge memberships ($29.99 monthly, $239.99 annual) and single courses.
- App Store: 4.7 (3k) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/musora-the-music-lessons-app/id1460388277)
- Google Play: 4.2 (2k) (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.drumeo&hl=en&gl=us)
- Maker: https://www.musora.com/drums
- Sources:
  - Follow-along video lessons: "Every lesson is follow-along. No watching a tutorial and being left to practice alone." (https://www.musora.com/drums)
  - Drums removed from songs: "Remove the drums so you're the drummer." (https://www.musora.com/drums)
  - Scrolling notation: "Follow along with scrolling notations." (https://www.musora.com/drums)
  - Web, tablet and mobile: "Get drum lessons across web, tablet, and mobile" (https://www.musora.com/drums)
  - 7-day trial: "When you sign up for a free trial, you'll have 7 days to try everything on Musora" (https://www.musora.com/drums)
  - Subscription only: "Yes, Musora is a subscription (either Monthly or Annual)" (https://www.musora.com/drums)
  - No MIDI needed for lessons: "No MIDI, cables, or external software needed!" (https://faq.musora.com/article/1194-do-i-need-midi-for-the-lessons)
  - Feedback comes from mentors: "All of our one-on-one interaction happens through our amazing Mentors Team via student reviews and personalized lesson plans" (https://faq.musora.com/article/1194-do-i-need-midi-for-the-lessons)
  - Personal lesson plan with a schedule: "complete with recommended lessons and a practice schedule to keep you on track." (https://faq.musora.com/article/1194-do-i-need-midi-for-the-lessons)
  - Student review is a video you submit: "Submit a short video" (https://faq.musora.com/article/1228-what-is-a-personalized-lesson-plan)
  - Rudiment lessons: "Ready to learn how to play all 40 drum rudiments?" (https://www.drumeo.com/beat/rudiments/)
  - Beginner course works on a pad: "Whether you're using a practice pad, electronic kit, or acoustic drums, this course meets you where you are" (https://shop.musora.com/products/new-drummers-start-here-en)
  - Free lessons with a free account: "Create a free account to access your Fastest Way To Get Faster lessons" (https://www.drumeo.com/)
  - Daily lessons in the app: "Follow your daily lessons" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/musora-the-music-lessons-app/id1460388277)

### Melodics

Melodics Limited. lessons, Windows, macOS, iOS, freemium. Free tier: 20 free lessons on iPhone, 20 free premium lessons on iPad with five minutes of playtime a day, and a 7-day desktop trial that falls back to a limited free plan.

Melodics scores your playing in interactive lessons, rudiment drills and song lessons, listening through the microphone on an acoustic kit or practice pad or over MIDI from an e-kit, with a practice mode that loops sections and drops the tempo. Know before choosing that it runs on Windows, Mac, iPad and iPhone only, with no Android or Chromebook version.

- Best for: Feedback, Songs, Rudiments, First steps
- Not for: Android and Chromebook users, since Melodics does not run there.
- Someone does it better: Drumeo teaches through follow-along video lessons from named drummers and adds mentors who review videos you send in.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Premium, monthly: $34.99/mo at Melodics website (https://melodics.com/plans)
  - Premium, billed annually: $179.88/yr at Melodics website (https://melodics.com/plans)
  - Monthly Subscription: $34.99/mo at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/melodics-drum-lessons-app/id6504540940)
  - Annual Subscription: $179.99/yr at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/melodics-drum-lessons-app/id6504540940)
  - Note: The website also sells a Standard plan at $29.99 a month or $131.88 billed annually; both plans start with a 7-day free trial. The website prices render by script; they were read in a browser and match Melodics' public plans feed (Premium monthly 3499 and Premium annual 17988 US cents). The App Store does not name the tier of its two subscriptions.
- App Store: 4.7 (620) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/melodics-drum-lessons-app/id6504540940)
- Google Play: not on this store
- Maker: https://melodics.com/drums
- Sources:
  - Listens and gives feedback: "Melodics listens to your drumming in real time and gives you instant feedback on timing, accuracy, and consistency." (https://melodics.com/drums)
  - E-kits over MIDI: "For electronic drum kits, just plug in via MIDI" (https://melodics.com/drums)
  - Acoustic kits and pads through the microphone: "Acoustic drums and practice pads work with Melodics through the device's built-in microphone." (https://melodics.com/drums)
  - No kit needed: "No kit? Practice your rudiments on any surface and get real-time feedback." (https://melodics.com/drums)
  - Rudiment lessons: "Play your way through interactive drum lessons, rudiments and exercises." (https://melodics.com/drums)
  - Song catalog: "Hundreds, with new lessons added every week." (https://melodics.com/drums)
  - Free on iPad: "iPad users get 20 free premium lessons with 5 minutes of playtime per day." (https://melodics.com/drums)
  - Free on iPhone: "For iPhone users you get the same but with unlimited playing time!" (https://melodics.com/drums)
  - Free lessons on iPhone: "Melodics offers 20 drum lessons free to all users." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/melodics-drum-lessons-app/id6504540940)
  - Platforms: "Melodics software runs on Windows, macOS, iPad, and iPhone." (https://support.melodics.com/en/articles/6894225-minimum-requirements-to-play-melodics)
  - No Android: "Melodics is not compatible with Android, Chromebooks (ChromeOS), Linux, or any other device/operating system not listed above." (https://support.melodics.com/en/articles/6894225-minimum-requirements-to-play-melodics)

### Beatlii: Drum Lessons

Beatlii; iOS listing published by Musora Media Inc.. lessons, iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, freemium. Free tier: 21 free lessons and 2 free courses with basic practice tools; the annual plan starts with a 7-day trial.

Beatlii turns an electronic kit into a scored lesson player, with a note highway or a sheet music view, courses from beginner to advanced, step-by-step song breakdowns and feedback on your timing and dynamics after each hit; with no kit you can finger drum on the screen. Know before choosing that both store apps were last updated in November 2025 and the Google Play version rates 2.95, so try the free lessons with your own kit before paying.

- Best for: Feedback, Songs
- Not for: Acoustic kit or practice pad players, since the maker describes feedback only through an electronic kit or finger drumming on the screen.
- Someone does it better: Melodics scores acoustic kits and practice pads through the microphone as well as e-kits, which Beatlii does not describe.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Monthly Plan: $14.99/mo at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/beatlii-drum-lessons/id1551286191)
  - Annual Plan: $99.99/yr at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/beatlii-drum-lessons/id1551286191)
  - Lifetime: $249.99 at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/beatlii-drum-lessons/id1551286191)
  - Note: The App Store also lists Monthly Plan entries at $4.99, $7.99 and $9.99, likely offers. beatlii.com/pages/plans shows Monthly $14.99, Annual $99 and Lifetime $249 without naming the currency, so those are not recorded as US dollar lines.
- App Store: 4.0 (176) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/beatlii-drum-lessons/id1551286191)
- Google Play: 3.0 (430) (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=rocks.freedrum.app&hl=en&gl=us)
- Maker: https://beatlii.com/
- Sources:
  - E-kit feedback: "Simply connect your electronic drum kit and receive instant feedback on your performance." (https://beatlii.com/)
  - Detailed feedback: "You'll see your timing accuracy, dynamic consistency, and how you performed in each section." (https://beatlii.com/)
  - Sheet music mode: "Switch to sheet music mode and practice using full drum notation." (https://beatlii.com/)
  - Song breakdowns: "Follow step-by-step breakdowns of each song." (https://beatlii.com/)
  - No kit: finger drumming: "No drum kit? No problem. Practice beats using just your fingers and screen." (https://beatlii.com/)
  - Platforms: "Whether you’re a Windows, macOS, iOS, or Android user, we’ve got you covered." (https://beatlii.com/)
  - Free tier: "21 free lessons" (https://beatlii.com/pages/plans)
  - Free courses: "2 free courses" (https://beatlii.com/pages/plans)
  - Bluetooth or cable connection: "Beatlii makes it easy to set up your drum kit via Bluetooth or cable." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/beatlii-drum-lessons/id1551286191)
  - iOS app published by Musora: "More by Musora Media Inc." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/beatlii-drum-lessons/id1551286191)
  - Real-time evaluation (Android): "Our app evaluates your performance in real-time, highlighting areas of improvement and celebrating your achievements." (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=rocks.freedrum.app&hl=en&gl=us)

### InstaDrum - Be a Drummer Now

Wanaka (iOS seller Xiaoyezi Beijing Technology Co., Ltd.). lessons, iOS, Android, subscription. Free tier: Free to download with an on-screen virtual drum; the maker does not say how many lessons or songs are free before a subscription.

InstaDrum teaches popular songs step by step in a game-like format, from a single note to a beat to a full song, with real drum notation and real-time feedback when you connect electronic drums by Bluetooth or cable. Know before choosing that the maker describes feedback only through electronic drums; without one you play an on-screen virtual drum.

- Best for: Songs, Feedback, First steps
- Not for: Acoustic kit or practice pad players who want feedback, since the maker describes feedback only through electronic drums.
- Someone does it better: Melodics hears acoustic kits and practice pads through the microphone and adds rudiment drills, which InstaDrum does not describe.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - 1 Month: $19.99/mo at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/instadrum-be-a-drummer-now/id1589890234)
  - 12 Months: $99.99/yr at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/instadrum-be-a-drummer-now/id1589890234)
  - Note: The App Store also lists 3 Months at $49.99 and 6 Months at $74.99. No price is published on instadrum.com.
- App Store: 4.7 (2k) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/instadrum-be-a-drummer-now/id1589890234)
- Google Play: 3.5 (380) (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.wanaka.instadrum&hl=en&gl=us)
- Maker: https://www.instadrum.com/
- Sources:
  - E-drum feedback: "It integrates with any electronic drums via Bluetooth or cable, providing real-time feedback on your performance." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/instadrum-be-a-drummer-now/id1589890234)
  - No kit: virtual drum: "Our on-screen virtual drum lets you explore music right at your fingertips." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/instadrum-be-a-drummer-now/id1589890234)
  - Notation: "It offers real drum notation and full-length sheet music, equipping you with skills to read music even outside the app." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/instadrum-be-a-drummer-now/id1589890234)
  - Song library: "Broad selection of songs catering to varied musical tastes and skill levels" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/instadrum-be-a-drummer-now/id1589890234)
  - Game-like structure: "Using its game-like structure, you can promptly learn to play your favorite songs, even as a complete beginner." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/instadrum-be-a-drummer-now/id1589890234)
  - Works with or without a kit (Android): "compatible with all electronic drums and even functions without one" (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.wanaka.instadrum&hl=en&gl=us)
  - Lessons: "Play drum with tons of fun lessons." (https://www.instadrum.com/)

### Drum School: Groove like a PRO (Ferenc Nemeth)

Ferenc Nemeth. lessons, iOS, Android, macOS, one-time. Free tier: Nothing is free: it is a paid download on each platform, with no subscription.

Drum School is a reference library of grooves in many styles, rudiment and hand exercises and classic hits, each with standard notation, a loop from 30 to 300 bpm, limb-by-limb muting and video by Ferenc Nemeth, plus technique videos and newer streaming video lessons. Know before choosing that it is a paid app bought separately on each platform, and nothing on the maker page or listings says it listens to or scores your playing.

- Best for: Rudiments, Video teachers
- Not for: Beginners who want the app to plan each day or tell them whether they played a pattern right.
- Someone does it better: Drumr pairs notation and tempo tools with scoring of your hits from an e-kit or a practice pad, which Drum School does not describe.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Drum School for iPhone and iPad: $24.99 at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-school/id414417836)
  - Drum School for Mac: $24.99 at Mac App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-school/id510517019)
  - Note: Each platform is a separate purchase; the Android copy is sold on Google Play, whose price is not recorded here by method. The App Store also lists Pop Rock Hits Vol.1 and Funk Hits Vol.1 packs at $1.99 each, although the maker site says the hits collection is included with no extra purchases.
- App Store: 4.8 (255) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-school/id414417836)
- Google Play: 4.4 (161) (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.technimo.drumschool&hl=en&gl=us)
- Maker: https://drumschoolapp.com/
- Sources:
  - One-time purchase: "One-time purchase · No subscriptions" (https://drumschoolapp.com/)
  - Separate purchase per platform: "Each platform is a separate purchase." (https://drumschoolapp.com/)
  - Platforms: "A single, beautifully designed app on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Android." (https://drumschoolapp.com/)
  - Technique videos: "Instructional demonstrations of fundamental drumming technique, performed by Ferenc Nemeth" (https://drumschoolapp.com/)
  - Hits to play along to: "Play along to classic pop, rock and funk hits with full notation and audio." (https://drumschoolapp.com/)
  - Rudiment exercises: "The practice section includes 145 drum exercises divided into: Basic Rudiments, Rolls, Flams, Drags, Hand Exercises and Coordination." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-school/id414417836)
  - Standard notation: "Standard drum notation with high quality graphics in portrait or landscape mode." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-school/id414417836)
  - Streaming video lessons added: "New Academy tab with streaming video lessons" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-school/id414417836)
  - Native Mac app: "Only for Mac" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-school/id510517019)
  - Android app: "This is the main section of Drum School with over 310 drum grooves in many different styles." (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.technimo.drumschool&hl=en&gl=us)

### Drumr - Learn & Practice Drums

Drumr Inc.. lessons, iOS, freemium. Free tier: 70+ free scores, including all 40 PAS rudiments plus grooves, fills and drumline exercises, and a 7-day Premium trial for the full library.

Drumr is a notation-first practice player for kit and marching drummers, with courses, grooves, fills and all 40 PAS rudiments, tempo ramps from 30 to 300 bpm, and Performance Analysis that marks early, late and missed notes on the score from an e-kit over MIDI or a practice pad through the microphone. Know before choosing that it is an Apple-only app that needs iOS 26 or iPadOS 26, and pad scoring needs AirPods or Apple wired headphones.

- Best for: Rudiments, Feedback
- Not for: Android users, and anyone whose iPhone or iPad cannot run iOS 26.
- Someone does it better: Melodics runs on Windows, Mac, iPad and iPhone and listens to a full acoustic kit through the microphone, not only a practice pad.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Premium Monthly: $12.99/mo at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drumr-learn-practice-drums/id6739002178)
  - Premium Annual: $79.99/yr at App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drumr-learn-practice-drums/id6739002178)
  - Note: Premium starts with a 7-day free trial. Notate, the companion notation editor, is a separate app with its own subscription.
- App Store: 4.4 (92) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drumr-learn-practice-drums/id6739002178)
- Google Play: not on this store
- Maker: https://drumr.app/
- Sources:
  - Performance Analysis: "Performance Analysis marks early, late, and missed notes right on the notation, rep by rep, so you know what to work on next." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drumr-learn-practice-drums/id6739002178)
  - E-kit input: "E-drums: per-instrument feedback via USB/MIDI." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drumr-learn-practice-drums/id6739002178)
  - Practice pad input: "Practice pads: microphone analysis with AirPods or Apple wired headphones." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drumr-learn-practice-drums/id6739002178)
  - Free tier: "70+ free scores, including all 40 PAS rudiments, plus grooves, fills, and drumline exercises." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drumr-learn-practice-drums/id6739002178)
  - Courses and recommendations: "Follow a course or curated playlist, or get recommendations from your recent practice." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drumr-learn-practice-drums/id6739002178)
  - Coach needs Apple Intelligence: "Requires Apple Intelligence." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drumr-learn-practice-drums/id6739002178)
  - Requires iOS 26: "Requires iOS 26.0 or later." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drumr-learn-practice-drums/id6739002178)
  - Watch pros, drumless tracks: "Work through courses, watch pros play, and take your place in the band with drumless tracks on supported scores." (https://drumr.app/)
  - Songs as charts with backing tracks: "A chart is a song with slash notation and rhythmic figures, played along to a backing track" (https://drumr.app/faq/)
  - Lesson video view: "Choose notation, KitView, PadView, BasslineView, PieView, or lesson video" (https://drumr.app/faq/)
  - Mic detects a practice pad: "Mic: Use the device microphone to detect hits from a practice pad." (https://drumr.app/faq/)

### Drumbitious: Drum Practice App

Verena Zaiser. practice planner, iOS, Android, freemium. Free tier: The free plan includes practice plans and exercises, the metronome and timer, the session diary, 30 days of statistics and the basic exercise library, while Premium adds the tempo ramp, PDF and video attachments and unlimited statistics.

Drumbitious is a practice planner and diary: you build exercises and plans, or let it build a 30-day rudiment plan, run them with a metronome that can ramp the tempo, and every session is logged with BPM and time. Know before choosing that its maker describes it as a planner and diary and never mentions listening to you, so the material and the judgment of how a session went are yours.

- Best for: Daily plan
- Not for: Drummers who want lessons or feedback on what they play, since it organizes and logs practice and its maker never mentions listening to you.
- Someone does it better: Drum Journal listens through the phone microphone and marks each stroke on a pad as on time or off, which the Drumbitious maker never describes.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Drumbitious Premium, monthly: $1.99/mo at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-practice-app-drumbitious/id1552236632)
  - Drumbitious Premium (annual): $14.99/yr at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-practice-app-drumbitious/id1552236632)
  - Note: The App Store In-App Purchases list names the first plan only Drumbitious Premium; the listing text calls it the monthly plan. The maker website shows euro prices only.
- App Store: 4.9 (8) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-practice-app-drumbitious/id1552236632)
- Google Play: 4.7 (57) (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.drumbitious.mvp&hl=en&gl=us)
- Maker: https://drumbitious.com
- Sources:
  - Practice planner and diary: "Drumbitious is a practice planner and diary for drummers." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-practice-app-drumbitious/id1552236632)
  - One tap builds a 30-day rudiment plan: "One tap builds a 30-day rudiment plan and drops five exercises into your library." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-practice-app-drumbitious/id1552236632)
  - Runs on iPhone, iPad and Android: "Your account syncs across iPhone, iPad and Android, and the app speaks English, German and Spanish." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-practice-app-drumbitious/id1552236632)
  - Tempo ramp is a Premium feature: "Steps of 1 to 50 BPM, every 1 to 99 bars. (Premium)" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-practice-app-drumbitious/id1552236632)
  - Library exercises come with text, images and audio, not video lessons: "All exercises come with a description, images and audio to guide you through the exercise." (https://drumbitious.com)
  - Progress is tracked from BPM, time and how practice felt: "Track your Progress by tracking data like BPM, Practice Time and Feeling" (https://drumbitious.com)
  - Basic metronome free, tempo ramp Premium: "Dynamic mode is a Premium feature; the metronome itself, including BPM, tap tempo and volume, is free." (https://drumbitious.com)
  - Focus is on your own exercises: "The main focus of Drumbitious is to create your own exercises, but there is a library of exercises that you can choose from." (https://drumbitious.com)
  - Media you attach, including sheet music: "Attach YouTube videos, MP3s, PDFs, and sheet music directly to your exercises." (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.drumbitious.mvp&hl=en&gl=us)

### Drum Journal: Practice Routine

Porath Consulting GmbH. practice planner, iOS, freemium. Free tier: Exercises, the microphone sticking coach, YouTube practice with slow-down and looping, streaks, session logs and one background music mood are free with a limited number of exercise slots.

Drum Journal runs a practice routine you assemble, and its sticking trainer listens through the phone microphone to mark every stroke on a pad or snare as on time, early or late, including flams and accents, next to YouTube songs you can slow down and loop. Know before choosing that its maker presents it as a practice companion rather than a lesson library, so you bring the lessons, and it runs only on iPhone and iPad, with Android still being built.

- Best for: Feedback, Rudiments, Daily plan
- Not for: Android drummers and anyone who wants to be taught, since it runs only on iPhone and iPad and expects you to bring your own lessons.
- Someone does it better: Drumbitious runs on Android as well as iPhone and iPad, while Drum Journal is iPhone and iPad only for now.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Pro Monthly: $4.99/mo at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-journal-practice-routine/id6758671743)
  - Pro Yearly: $34.99/yr at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-journal-practice-routine/id6758671743)
  - Pro Lifetime: $69.99 at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-journal-practice-routine/id6758671743)
  - Note: The App Store also lists a Pro Annual plan at the same price as Pro Yearly.
- App Store: 5.0 (9) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-journal-practice-routine/id6758671743)
- Google Play: not on this store
- Maker: https://drumjournal.com
- Sources:
  - Microphone sticking coach on a practice pad: "The built-in sticking coach uses your device's microphone to hear you play on a practice pad." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-journal-practice-routine/id6758671743)
  - Marks every hit: "The app listens through the microphone and shows a colored dot for every hit" (https://drumjournal.com)
  - Works on a pad or a full kit: "It works with a practice pad or a full kit" (https://drumjournal.com)
  - Bring your own lessons or teachers: "Use whatever lessons or teachers you want, and keep the work in Drum Journal." (https://drumjournal.com)
  - You assemble the routine yourself: "Mix rudiments, sticking patterns, songs, and YouTube videos into one routine." (https://drumjournal.com)
  - YouTube lessons and songs, slowed and looped: "Drop any YouTube drum lesson into your routine. Slow it down, loop the hard bar, mark the section that's killing you." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-journal-practice-routine/id6758671743)
  - Exercises shown in drum notation: "View exercises with sheet music notation. Toggle between sticking text and standard drum notation." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-journal-practice-routine/id6758671743)
  - Rudiment library: "RUDIMENTS: Four more in the library, free to practice: Flam Accent, Single Stroke Four, Paradiddle-Diddle and Double Paradiddle join the library." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drum-journal-practice-routine/id6758671743)
  - Core practice features are free: "All core practice features are free" (https://drumjournal.com)
  - Free version limits exercise slots: "The free version has a limited number of exercise slots, but you can swap exercises in and out anytime." (https://drumjournal.com)
  - iPhone and iPad only; Android in development: "Drum Journal runs on iPhone and iPad today. Android is being built." (https://drumjournal.com)
  - Presented as a practice companion: "Drum Journal is a practice companion for drummers." (https://drumjournal.com)

### Chops: Drum Rudiments

Digital Staves Ltd. rudiment trainer, iOS, freemium. Free tier: Free to download, but neither the listing nor the maker site says which rudiments or features work without the subscription; schools and eligible ensembles can apply for free access.

Chops covers all 40 PAS rudiments with notation, audio playback, snare and kit variations, courses, and workouts that set the metronome to the speed you can play each rudiment. Know before choosing that it is made for iPhone and iPad with no Android version, and neither the listing nor the maker site says it listens to your playing.

- Best for: Rudiments, Daily plan
- Not for: Drummers on Android, or anyone who wants grooves, songs or feedback on their strokes rather than a rudiment workbook.
- Someone does it better: Drum Journal listens to your pad through the microphone and marks each stroke on time or off, which the Chops listing never claims to do.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Chops Subscription (Monthly): $2.99/mo at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chops-drum-rudiments/id6566195057)
  - Chops Subscription (Yearly): $29.99/yr at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chops-drum-rudiments/id6566195057)
  - Lifetime: $69.99 at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chops-drum-rudiments/id6566195057)
  - Note: The App Store also lists an Education Subscription (Yearly) at $12.99.
- App Store: 4.7 (15) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chops-drum-rudiments/id6566195057)
- Google Play: not on this store
- Maker: https://drumchops.app
- Sources:
  - Rudiment trainer with workouts, courses and progress tracking: "A rudiment trainer built for drummers: workouts, exercises, courses, and progress tracking." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chops-drum-rudiments/id6566195057)
  - All 40 PAS rudiments: "MASTER ALL 40 PAS RUDIMENTS" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chops-drum-rudiments/id6566195057)
  - Shows notation: "Beautiful and easy to read notation." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chops-drum-rudiments/id6566195057)
  - Pad practice and kit variations: "Break out from your practise pad and apply your new skills on the kit." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chops-drum-rudiments/id6566195057)
  - Personalised workouts run the session: "Chops knows your skill level, and personalises each workout to help you achieve your goals." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chops-drum-rudiments/id6566195057)
  - Sets the metronome to your speed: "Chops knows how fast you can play each rudiment and adjusts the metronome for you." (https://drumchops.app)
  - Audio demonstration of each rudiment: "Listen to each rudiment in action." (https://drumchops.app)
  - Available on iOS: "Available now on iOS." (https://digitalstaves.com/)
  - Free access for schools: "you can apply for free access to Chops for your students." (https://digitalstaves.com/school-connect)

### Metronome & Rudiment Practice

Koen Jacobs (cougnes). rudiment trainer, iOS, macOS, freemium. Free tier: The core metronome and the full library of 40 rudiments are free, with ads, while Premium adds advanced metronome features, unlimited and custom practice sessions and all Practice Packs.

Metronome & Rudiment Practice pairs a drummer's metronome with gap training and automatic tempo increases to all 40 essential rudiments in notation with audio, plus speed-building programs and Practice Packs based on Stick Control and Accents & Rebounds. Know before choosing that the free version shows ads and the packs, custom sessions and the advanced metronome tools need Premium.

- Best for: Rudiments
- Not for: Drummers who want lessons, songs or feedback on what they actually play, since it is a metronome with a rudiment library and practice programs.
- Someone does it better: Chops personalises each workout to your skill level and adds snare and kit variations for every rudiment, which this listing does not describe.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Premium - One Month: $2.99/mo at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/metronome-rudiment-practice/id6468037178)
  - Premium - One Year: $24.99/yr at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/metronome-rudiment-practice/id6468037178)
- App Store: 4.6 (31) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/metronome-rudiment-practice/id6468037178)
- Google Play: not on this store
- Sources:
  - All 40 rudiments with notation and audio: "All 40 essential drum rudiments with notation, sticking, and audio playback" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/metronome-rudiment-practice/id6468037178)
  - Speed training programs: "Pre-built speed training programs that ramp BPM over time" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/metronome-rudiment-practice/id6468037178)
  - Practice Packs: "Practice Packs based on Stick Control and Accents & Rebounds" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/metronome-rudiment-practice/id6468037178)
  - What is free: "The core metronome and full rudiment library are free." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/metronome-rudiment-practice/id6468037178)
  - What Premium adds: "Upgrade to Premium for advanced metronome features, unlimited practice sessions, custom session creation, and all Practice Packs." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/metronome-rudiment-practice/id6468037178)
  - Gap training and auto-increment limited on free: "Gap Training and Auto Increment are free for 2 sessions, then require premium." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/metronome-rudiment-practice/id6468037178)
  - Native Mac app: "Requires macOS 14.0 or later." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/metronome-rudiment-practice/id6468037178)

### Mike's Lessons

Mike Johnston (mikeslessons.com). lessons, Web, subscription. Free tier: No free plan is described; a one-week free trial opens all courses.

Mike's Lessons is Mike Johnston's subscription website: video lessons filmed in 4K with interactive notation, structured courses, song-based Sessions where you send Mike videos of yourself for review, and weekly live streams. Know before choosing that it has no app on the App Store or Google Play, so you learn in a browser on any device, and feedback means Mike reviewing videos you submit.

- Best for: Video teachers, Songs, First steps
- Not for: Drummers who want an app that listens and scores them as they play, since this is a website and feedback comes from video submissions.
- Someone does it better: Melodics listens through the phone microphone or an e-kit and gives instant feedback on what you play, while Mike's Lessons relies on videos you send to Mike.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Membership, monthly: $29.99/mo at Mike's Lessons (https://www.mikeslessons.com/)
  - Membership, yearly: $269.90/yr at Mike's Lessons (https://www.mikeslessons.com/)
  - Note: A six-month membership is $149.95. Read on the live home page in a browser; the site blocks automated reads.
- App Store: not on this store
- Google Play: not on this store
- Maker: https://mikeslessons.com
- Sources:
  - 4K video lessons with interactive notation (Wayback copy of the maker's home page script, 2026-09-04; same words on the live site 2026-10-07): "All of our lessons are filmed in 4K and feature and are accompanied by our proprietary interactive notation" (https://web.archive.org/web/20260904043553/https://www.mikeslessons.com/build/assets/Home-DDd-CsjW.js)
  - Song-based Sessions (Wayback copy of the maker's home page script, 2026-09-04; same words on the live site 2026-10-07): "A series of courses built around learning a song and applying the fundamentals of drumming to play it as accurately as possible." (https://web.archive.org/web/20260904043553/https://www.mikeslessons.com/build/assets/Home-DDd-CsjW.js)
  - Feedback by video review (Wayback copy of the maker's home page script, 2026-09-04; same words on the live site 2026-10-07): "Through our unique feature, Sessions, you can submit your videos to Mike for a comprehensive review." (https://web.archive.org/web/20260904043553/https://www.mikeslessons.com/build/assets/Home-DDd-CsjW.js)
  - Weekly live streams (Wayback copy of the maker's home page script, 2026-09-04; same words on the live site 2026-10-07): "Each week you will get the opportunity to interact with Mike during the live streams." (https://web.archive.org/web/20260904043553/https://www.mikeslessons.com/build/assets/Home-DDd-CsjW.js)
  - Start on a pad or e-kit (Wayback copy of the maker's home page script, 2026-09-04; same words on the live site 2026-10-07): "you can begin your drum lessons online with a simple practice pad or electronic kit before moving to a full acoustic setup." (https://web.archive.org/web/20260904043553/https://www.mikeslessons.com/build/assets/Home-DDd-CsjW.js)
  - One-week free trial (Wayback copy of the maker's home page script, 2026-09-04; same words on the live site 2026-10-07): "Yes, you can access all courses and cancel anytime during your first week" (https://web.archive.org/web/20260904043553/https://www.mikeslessons.com/build/assets/Home-DDd-CsjW.js)
  - Website in the browser, no app (Wayback copy of the maker's home page script, 2026-09-04; same words on the live site 2026-10-07): "The website is fully mobile-optimized, so you can learn drums online anywhere, from any device." (https://web.archive.org/web/20260904043553/https://www.mikeslessons.com/build/assets/Home-DDd-CsjW.js)
  - Taught by Mike Johnston (Wayback copy of the maker's home page script, 2026-09-04; same words on the live site 2026-10-07): "Mike Johnston is an internationally recognized educator, clinician and musician dedicated to the art of drumming education." (https://web.archive.org/web/20260904043553/https://www.mikeslessons.com/build/assets/Home-DDd-CsjW.js)

### Real Drum: electronic drum set

Kolb Apps (KOLB SISTEMAS - EIRELI). drum game, iOS, Android, Web, Windows, freemium. Free tier: The virtual kit is free with ads along with part of the lessons and loops, while Premium removes ads and unlocks all lessons, all loops and the metronome.

Real Drum is a virtual drum kit you play with your fingers on a phone or tablet, with over 100 lessons, video lessons, loops to play along with, custom kits and MIDI support. Know before choosing that it is a game with ads, and the maker never says its lessons grade your timing or teach technique on sticks and a real kit.

- Best for: First steps
- Not for: Anyone who wants to build stick technique on a pad or kit, since it is played with fingers on a touch screen.
- Someone does it better: Melodics teaches on a real practice pad or kit and gives feedback on what you play, while Real Drum's lessons are played with fingers on a screen.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Subscription monthly: $3.99/mo at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/real-drum-electronic-drum-set/id550920929)
  - Premium Version 12 months: $12.99/yr at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/real-drum-electronic-drum-set/id550920929)
  - Note: The App Store In-App Purchases list also shows several other Premium variants, from $1.99 to $99.99, including a 6-month plan at $17.99 and a Remove Ads item at $99.99.
- App Store: 4.5 (49k) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/real-drum-electronic-drum-set/id550920929)
- Google Play: 4.5 (1.7M) (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=br.com.rodrigokolb.realdrum&hl=en&gl=us)
- Maker: https://kolbapps.com/
- Sources:
  - Video lessons and play-along loops: "The Real Drum offers various video lessons to assist you, along with a variety of loops to play along with." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/real-drum-electronic-drum-set/id550920929)
  - Over 100 lessons: "Over 100 drum lessons to learn drumming" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/real-drum-electronic-drum-set/id550920929)
  - No kit needed: "You don't need an acoustic drum set or electronic drums to learn to play!" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/real-drum-electronic-drum-set/id550920929)
  - Played with fingers on the screen: "Experience the sensation of your fingers transforming into drumsticks and feel like part of a real band!" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/real-drum-electronic-drum-set/id550920929)
  - What Premium unlocks: "Premium Version (Remove ads; Unlock all loops; Unlock all lessons and Unlock Metronome)" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/real-drum-electronic-drum-set/id550920929)
  - MIDI support: "MIDI support" (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=br.com.rodrigokolb.realdrum&hl=en&gl=us)
  - Android and Windows availability on Google Play: "Available on Android, Windows" (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=br.com.rodrigokolb.realdrum&hl=en&gl=us)
  - Browser version: "Real Drum Online - Touch & Play" (https://www.realdrum.app/)

### Drums: Learn & Play Beat Games

MWM. drum game, iOS, freemium. Free tier: Some drum kits, free play and the songs outside the Premium catalog are free, and a subscription with a free trial unlocks the Premium song catalog and all drum kits.

Drums by MWM is a tapping game: you follow on-screen instructions on a virtual kit through lessons and a large song catalog and aim for a high score. Know before choosing that the listing describes only tapping the screen, never sticks, a pad or a kit, and the app has not been updated since 2024-02-20.

- Best for: First steps
- Not for: Anyone who wants to build stick technique on a pad or kit, since the listing describes playing by tapping a virtual kit on the screen.
- Someone does it better: Real Drum, another virtual kit, is still updated in 2026, adds video lessons and supports MIDI, while MWM's Drums was last updated in February 2024.
- Price (US, checked 2026-10-07):
  - Weekly Premium Pass: $7.99/wk at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drums-learn-play-beat-games/id1381436705)
  - Monthly Premium Pass: $18.99/mo at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drums-learn-play-beat-games/id1381436705)
  - Annually Premium Pass: $75.99/yr at App Store (US) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drums-learn-play-beat-games/id1381436705)
  - Note: The In-App Purchases list shows weekly passes at several prices from $5.99 to $9.49; the description names a weekly pass at $7.99 and a yearly one at $40.99, which does not appear in the list.
- App Store: 4.4 (32k) (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drums-learn-play-beat-games/id1381436705)
- Google Play: not on this store
- Maker: https://mwm.ai
- Sources:
  - Song catalog: "Learn thousands of song from a songbook updated every week!" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drums-learn-play-beat-games/id1381436705)
  - Scores taps note by note: "Get all notes and rhythm perfectly to reach high score." (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drums-learn-play-beat-games/id1381436705)
  - Lessons follow on-screen instructions: "Play easily like on a real drum just by following the instructions" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drums-learn-play-beat-games/id1381436705)
  - Played by tapping the screen: "Just tap and instantly hear the kick drums, cymbals, or snare drums!" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drums-learn-play-beat-games/id1381436705)
  - What the subscription unlocks: "Subscribe for unlimited access to our Premium songs catalog and play with all Drum kits" (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drums-learn-play-beat-games/id1381436705)

## What we found

### Being graded mostly needs an electronic kit

Seven of the 14 apps say they score what you play. Five of them listen to an electronic kit over MIDI or Bluetooth. Only three say a microphone can follow real drums: Melodics for acoustic kits and practice pads, Drum Journal on a pad or a kit, and Drumr on a practice pad with Apple headphones. On an acoustic kit, the rest guide you but do not say they can tell whether you played it right.

### The video schools give feedback through people

Drumeo and Mike's Lessons have the deepest video teaching on this page, and neither says its app listens to you play. Their feedback is human: Musora's mentors and Mike himself review videos you send. The apps that grade you in real time are built around exercises and songs, not around a teacher on camera.

### The biggest audiences belong to drum games

Real Drum has by far the most store ratings of any app here, on both stores, and MWM's Drums follows it on the App Store. Both are drum games with lessons attached: a fine first taste of rhythm before there is a kit in the house, not a path to playing one.

### Paying once is rare

Drum School is the only app sold outright. Beatlii, Chops and Drum Journal offer a lifetime unlock next to their subscriptions. Everything else bills by the month or the year, so the price column shows both where both exist.

## How we checked

**Where the facts come from.** Every spec, feature tick and claim comes from the maker's own page, a store listing, a manual or a retailer's spec sheet, read on 2026-10-07, and the exact words relied on are kept with each row (open "Sources" on any card). Store ratings and review counts are the stores' own on that date, pulled through Sonar, an app-store analytics service. A feature is marked yes only when one of those sources says it; when none does, it is shown as unknown rather than as no.

**How it was checked.** Every row was researched once and then handed to a second, independent pass whose only job was to break it: open the same pages, check every spec, every tick, every rating and every quote. Rows it could not confirm were corrected, marked unknown, or dropped before publishing.

**What this page does not measure yet.** We have not put a drum recording through every app at half speed and compared how the hits survive. Time-stretching smears sharp attacks, and drums are all sharp attacks, so it matters; when we test it, the method will be here.

**Prices.** Every price is in US dollars, read on 2026-10-07 on the store or page named next to it, with a link: Sweetwater, Musician's Friend or the maker's own store for gear and books, the US App Store's in-app purchase list or the maker's pricing page for apps. When a maker sells for less on its own website than in the app, both are shown. Prices change, so the date is part of the fact: check the store before you buy. Nothing on this page is an affiliate link.

## FAQ

### What is the best app to learn drums?

It depends on whether you want to be taught or checked. For teaching on video, Drumeo and Mike's Lessons have the deepest courses. For an app that grades what you play, Melodics and Drumr, best with an electronic kit. For building your hands, a rudiment trainer such as Chops. The three questions at the top of the page narrow it to your setup.

### Can a drum app hear an acoustic drum kit?

A few say they can, through the phone's microphone: Melodics for acoustic kits and practice pads, Drum Journal on a pad or a kit, and Drumr on a practice pad with Apple headphones. Most apps that grade you rely on an electronic kit connected by cable or Bluetooth.

### Is there a free app to learn drums?

Most apps here have a free part, and the size differs a lot. Melodics gives 20 lessons, Beatlii 21 lessons and two courses, Drumr over 70 scores including all 40 rudiments, and Metronome & Rudiment Practice keeps its full rudiment library free. Drumeo and Mike's Lessons open their full libraries with a one-week trial.

### Do I need a drum kit to start learning with an app?

No. Most of these apps work on a practice pad, your knees or the screen; the No kit column shows which say so. Being graded on what you play needs an electronic kit or, for a few apps, a microphone.

### Which drum learning apps work on Android?

Drum Coach, Drumeo, Beatlii, InstaDrum, Drum School, Drumbitious and Real Drum have Android apps. Melodics runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Windows but not Android; Drumr, Drum Journal and Chops are Apple only; Mike's Lessons runs in the browser.

## Related

- [The best way to learn drums](https://upbeat.studio/learn/learning-drums/best-way-to-learn-drums)
- [Rhythm trainer apps compared](https://upbeat.studio/compare/rhythm-trainer-apps)
- [Apps for electronic drum kits compared](https://upbeat.studio/compare/apps-for-electronic-drums)
